We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Devils Claw is a great course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whirlwind Golf Club

Whirlwind Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whirlwind Golf Club is truly a unique southwest golf experience. The courses, clubhouse, and practice facilities are sensitively designed to preserve the rich cultural heritage of the Gila River Indian Community. Named for the prominent design feature of the hand-woven basketry of the Authum tribe, Whirlwind is the work of golf course architect Gary Panks. His design weaves the spirit and legacy of this ancient land into a marvelous test of golf. The Devil's Claw course features sweeping elevation changes and dramatic bunkering. The Cattail course complements the Devil's Claw, but lends a whole new flavor to this 36-hole masterpiece, with its rolling fairways accented by striking water features and deep canyons. Whirlwind promises a dynamic golf experience marked by spectacular landscaping, unrivaled course conditions, and genuine customer service.
Madison, NJ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Devils Claw is a great course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My teen son and I played this course and it was extremely challenging. Service at this course was very good and the course is well maintained.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Madison_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be Sure to Try SIVLIK At the Golf Club For Lunch....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Located in the Gila River Indian Community - I don't play golf, but my husband does - and recommends the course -- however,
I'm writing about a "hidden find" - SIVLIK Restaurant - caters to the golf crowd, but many non-golfers come just to have lunch!
The outdoor patio offers great vistas of the surrounding area, as well as the putting green (!) - Great salads, sandwiches and flat-breads - service runs "hot and cold", but with such wonderful scenery, you don't seem to mind as much! IF you have room, be sure to order FRY BREAD for dessert!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dessertgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
740 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,011 helpful votes
“Top shelf golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you want to test your game both of these courses will surely challenge you.

If you are playing the tips or even one up, you will get good length.

The greens were fair but not easy. I had more three putts that normal.

The facilities were well kept, the prices are on the upper end but so is the experience.

Well worth it on a splurge round.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Resort Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I just played the Cat Tail course and it is very well maintained and every phase of the way it works is handled great!
Challenging but not the crazy target golf you sometimes get in Arizona courses. Greens were very fair rolling with plenty of interesting pin placements.
You should go here for sure, but check online for better pricing on tee times (not on their site). One knock on tee times as a guest at nearby Sheraton, there was no discounts for guests. And we spent a lot of money there. There should be at least an option for one discounted tee time per stay, and perhaps use of driving range with resort fee (as JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass course does) would be great, and i don't think would overwhelm the practice area. Some features like this would have had me golfing (or at least spending some money in clubhouse) at least twice in 4 days there, vs 1!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank J0hnR64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff are very good; food is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The golf course was in good shape - especially the greens. Not overly challenging but a good round for the mid to higher handicap golfer. The pro shop and clubhouse are generally staffed with excellent folks. The breakfast is very good and good value. We were staying at a nearby hotel and choose to eat at the golf course every day for breakfast (except when we were golfing at another Troon course).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirlwind Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Whirlwind Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing