We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful Course” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whirlwind Golf Club

Whirlwind Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whirlwind Golf Club is truly a unique southwest golf experience. The courses, clubhouse, and practice facilities are sensitively designed to preserve the rich cultural heritage of the Gila River Indian Community. Named for the prominent design feature of the hand-woven basketry of the Authum tribe, Whirlwind is the work of golf course architect Gary Panks. His design weaves the spirit and legacy of this ancient land into a marvelous test of golf. The Devil's Claw course features sweeping elevation changes and dramatic bunkering. The Cattail course complements the Devil's Claw, but lends a whole new flavor to this 36-hole masterpiece, with its rolling fairways accented by striking water features and deep canyons. Whirlwind promises a dynamic golf experience marked by spectacular landscaping, unrivaled course conditions, and genuine customer service.
Waite Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a golf package and this was one of the three courses that were included. This course was in very good shape. It provided a challenging golf experience for a mid to high handicapper. The staff treated us very we'll, all were pleasant and helpful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
195 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“My son loved the course...he said staff were terrific!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This course is close to wildhorse pass and they have a regular bus that goes back and forth so you can take a ride..about two miles..kind of hidden in a private area...very different view of Phx...not housing all around it..views of mountains...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
453 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good for varietal golfers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We played the more difficult Cattail course, one of two courses available, after a two month closing. The pace moved along with little waiting. The course has wide fairways, larger greens with forgiving wide shoulders. Unusual grass; not the typical resort course variety. Service was Troon-worthy. Most of the distance markers were dry-grass covered but this could be due to renovating after aeration and storm damage. All-in-all, an enjoyable round on this reservation near Chandler, Wild Horse Pass and Hwy 10.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great course - Cattail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

As you can imagine, A resort course...well mantained with a friendly staff and the the drinks are cold.
Bring your GPS..and plenty of balls. It's target golf here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turlock, cali
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cattail fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went here on a Sunday afternoon. Pace was great. Free water in ice chest on cart and wet towels in the cart. We had a great time although I wish the staff would have asked if we had a Troon card as I forgot to get credit for my round as a rewards member and when the round was over the clubhouse was already closed so I lost out on those points! :-( Weather was great on the 5th...mild for this time of year in the mid 80's. The hotel is great too, we've stayed there twice but no time to golf those times, but finally had time. Good restaurant at Wild Horse too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel4GolfAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirlwind Golf Club also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Whirlwind Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing