We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great courses, great facility, awesome staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whirlwind Golf Club

Whirlwind Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whirlwind Golf Club is truly a unique southwest golf experience. The courses, clubhouse, and practice facilities are sensitively designed to preserve the rich cultural heritage of the Gila River Indian Community. Named for the prominent design feature of the hand-woven basketry of the Authum tribe, Whirlwind is the work of golf course architect Gary Panks. His design weaves the spirit and legacy of this ancient land into a marvelous test of golf. The Devil's Claw course features sweeping elevation changes and dramatic bunkering. The Cattail course complements the Devil's Claw, but lends a whole new flavor to this 36-hole masterpiece, with its rolling fairways accented by striking water features and deep canyons. Whirlwind promises a dynamic golf experience marked by spectacular landscaping, unrivaled course conditions, and genuine customer service.
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great courses, great facility, awesome staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have spent time at Whirlwind practicing and playing. Can find no fault as of yet. You are treated first class from the moment you step on the property.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, British Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great golf”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The course was in excellent condition for late September. All of the staff were helpful and very friendly. After the round we went through the pro shop and gave us a card to fill out and that gave us a beer (for $1) in the golf course restaurant/bar. It was nice to see something other than lite beers on tap. The best part was the chicken wings we ordered; their was enough for two and they were great. I would go back just for the wings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank golfandgrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice course,but not worth the $160.00 fee! Wild West does not have shuttle to course, and too far to walk in the heat!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I enjoyed the course layout and the conditions of the greens. It was also near a resort and casino. My buddies and I had a great time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Course to Play, But only at the Summer Rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love to play these two courses, but the full rate they charge during the winter is insane. The courses are kept very well manicured and the facilities are nice, but the land surrounding the course is kind of ugly scrub land, unlike say Troon North or Talking Stick.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maughaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whirlwind Golf Club also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Whirlwind Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing