We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Stopped in to try a restaurant; very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #3 of 611 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Firebirds is a collection of polished casual restaurants offering a refined atmosphere, top-notch service and upscale dining at a modest price. We are known for our authentic, wood-fired entrees infused with bold flavors, fresh herbs & spices. Our restaurants feature a selection of aged steaks hand-cut in the restaurant, fresh seafood, chicken & ribs seared over local hickory, oak or pecan wood.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stopped in to try a restaurant; very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Going out to eat on Friday night and looking for a good place around the mall and we stopped in here. Everything was great: food, service and atmosphere. The waiter was especially nice and gave us great service. Was very thoughtful and polite as well.

Price was a little on the high side but nothing that would stop us from coming back. I guess pretty much on par with other "upscale" restaurants in the area.

They had a solo artist playing acoustic guitar on the outdoor patio. Nice touch.

Stop by and check it out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abap_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    116
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, safe choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Have been to the Firebirds in Delaware before so knew what to expect.
Food is good and well portioned.
Try the BLT salad for a treat..my favorite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daddyoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firebirdsgrill, Guest Relations Manager at Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear daddyoindianapolis, Thank you for your kind words regarding our Wilmington, DE location. I glad to hear that you enjoy our food, service and especially our BLT Salad.

Sincerely,

Becky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice decor, though I'm not a fan of basically having the kitchen in the dining room. I like to talk to people at dinner, and the added noise is not a plus. Food was excellent, the steak was cooked exactly as requested and well-seasoned. Our server had the height and looks of a runway model, and the service was well-timed and excellent. Food was not inexpensive, though it was high quality and well prepared, Cocktails were priced at $9, which is price-gouging. My overall impression is that this is a high qualiy restaurant, and I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InfrqntTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a great meal experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Usually, I'm not fond of chain or franchise restaurants. However, we met up with a few friends for dinner at their request and I was pleasantly surprised. I ordered the filet mignon and other ordered the grilled salmon, the prime rib, the ribeye and the kabobs. All were very well prepared. My filet with blue cheese was awesome. The service was ok, not extra ordinary. The patio needs a tad of work. The interior of the restaurant was pretty good. Overall, a very good experience, and notable to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazinetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Chandler AZ has some pretty good restaurants. This is one. My husband and I ate at the bar, as we usually do. You usually get much better service plus fun conversation. Not necessarily the case here. The food was good, but nothing to write home about. We had the lobster, spinach, queso dip, which was very good with lots of lobster pieces. Then we had the sesame encrusted salmon with ginger mustard aioli, garlic mashed potatoes, and fried spinach--sounded very exciting. The fish was done very well, but the sauce really needed some zip. It was more like mayonnaise with a teeny tiny bit of something else (maybe mustard?)...it needed more of the ginger and mustard and maybe some lemon. The fried spinach was very interesting. Each leaf was fried and melted in your mouth--that was pretty cool.

As far as being at the bar, the bartender needed to learn to multi-task. He really couldn't make drinks and talk at the same time. He was very nice, but not a typical chatty bartender. In fact, he was making mojitos for other folks and couldn't manage to give us menus in between. When a second bartender arrived, she got us the menu. Not a big deal, but unusual at a bar.

If we lived here, we would most likely give it another shot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebirds Wood Fired Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Firebirds Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing