We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good Greek food, nice atmosphere, surprisingly modest prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Big Fat Greek Restaurant - CLOSED

My Big Fat Greek Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good Greek food, nice atmosphere, surprisingly modest prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The food is good. The appetizer keftedes could have been a bit spicier, but most Americans prefer the less spicy type. The gyros is good, typical Americanized, the Greek salad is fresh, the pitta as well, the souvlaki yummy. The service was friendly and attentive. The place is smaller than you think, so it pays to make reservations during peak times. The atmosphere is nothing special but nice. Surprisingly they have almost no Greek wine on the wine menu, but in the US it is hard to find good Greek wine anyway. The prices were modest, compared to some much pricier places next door. A good place to indulge in my favorite food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Not Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Greek Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good Greek Food near Chandler Fashion Mall. Good sized portions and excellent menu selection for lunch or dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calgary149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Big Fat Greek & Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

You’ve heard it said, “Never trust a skinny chef.” I agree. My Big Fat Greek Restaurant embodies everything you’d look for in a place to eat. The food is delicious, fresh, and served to order. The price is reasonable and fair. The service is prompt and efficient. Lastly, you go away almost planning your return visit. Really! Think about it. At some point in the future you will get hungry again. When you do you think about what you want to eat. When you have a good experience and enjoy good dining you remember where you last enjoyed eating and Vwalla  My Big Fat Greek Restaurant pops into your mind. So far I’ve eaten at this restaurant in two different states and am satisfied to give it one of my best recommended restaurants. I just ate there again today and am already planning my return. Great job people!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank racerd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food and service were very good and the cost was reasonable. I ordered the pizza salad which sounds strange, but ti was delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank droofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, sure wich they had tabbouleh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food is quite good, but they don't have some of my favorite dishes so I typically go elsewhere for my Mediterranean fix.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kclightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Big Fat Greek Restaurant also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing