We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great breakfast at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoosier Cafe

Hoosier Cafe
Ranked #55 of 620 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We've been to Hoosiers probably 10 times. The service has always been friendly and the food is "good midwestern." We've had several egg dishes all good, typical of a breakfast cafe. The cinnamon rolls are huge, lots of cream cheese based frosting, but a bit lacking in cinnamon filling. The one downside of Hoosiers is that there is one bathroom with one stall. Try not to sit too close ... for bad things sometimes happen in there. Also, it's what you might expect to see when there is only one room for all to use. The ambiance of the dining area is decor of many school pennants. Very casual.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurelNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best breakfast/lunch restaurant in the East Valley! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

We used to live across the street, and came here for breakfast six to eight times a month. Only had lunch a few times, but the lunch was just as good as the breakfast.

Moved away several months ago, and can't find another place that comes close to Hoosiers in my current home town! Back in the area today, doing some traveling, and visiting some old friends.

Food is excellent, portions are large, prices are very reasonable, and the staff are very professional, personable, and quick!

Small, family-owned business, where it's not uncommon to actually see the owners working and mingling with the customers, and be treated like a member of the family.

Be sure to come by Hoosiers when you're in Chandler, AZ. You won't regret it!

Helpful?
1 Thank 292Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating here for years! Love this place. Great food/portions, descent prices, and great service! A must eat at place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its a decent place, but do not go out of your way to get there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Its a decent restaurant, and most of the time the food is pretty good. It is not excellent by any means. When you order they will ask if you want ranch style potatoes, hash browns or biscuits and gravy. If you order the ranch potatoes they ask if you want onions and peppers. What they do not tell you is that there is a charge for peppers and onions. It is on the menu, but you have to look for the adds. Also the biscuits are packaged and not made in house.

I recently had breakfast with my step son, and my potatoes came out raw. I asked them if they could get me some that were more cooked, and they cheerfully brought some new ones but they deep fried them. If I wanted deep fried potatoes I would have asked for them. The facts are these: Its a good place. The food servers are quick and friendly, the bacon center cut and crisp.
Its just that there is nothing special about the place. Its just a breakfast place pure and simple.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Arizona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you like home style big breakfasts with sausage, biscuits and gravy, home fries or hash browns and all the other great breakfast choices then you'll love Hoosiers. My out-of-town family members insist I take them to Hoosiers and have always been delighted with the quick service and delicious food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoosier Cafe also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hoosier Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing