We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's O.K.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Zocalo Mexican Grill

El Zocalo Mexican Grill
Ranked #25 of 609 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“it's O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It’s O.K. price was high for the quality. We ate at other Mexican place in the area that we liked better but it wan not bad just not great good friendly service

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Lman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    69
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a small place in Chandler that had outstanding Mexican food. The service was excellent. The portions were generous. We had an order of the fajita which came with 2 warm tortillas but more were offered throughout the meal. Also the homemade relano were outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler,AZ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good food, great margaritas, and beautiful outdoor seating. If the weather is nice...EAT OUTSIDE! I love that it is an original Chandler Restaurant. It's just a nice little place to go and spend the evening in Chandler.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wendyzChandler_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panora, Iowa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“El Zocalo outdoor patio garden and food are a "Don't miss"!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great service and food over and over again. One of our favorite places in the valley. Go at night and sit outside in their private, intimate patio. Lots of trees with perfect lighting. The orange trees were blossoming tonight so the smell was amazing. Don't miss the Shrimp Rellano! Whether its a night out with friends, a celebration, business dinner, or romantic dinner... This is the spot!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting ambiance and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the second time we've been to this restaurant. The first time we sat outside, this time inside. Both times the food was very, very good and the waitstaff was really friendly. The outside experience was better however. Outside it was not as busy and easier to talk. Inside it was tight and lots of noise (not terrible, just in relation to outside).

The band ambiance is great. It really adds a nice touch and both times the music was very good.

The bar was good also. We waited for our wives as they shopped outside on the streets for a while. The bar staff really hustle and they're happy and helpful.

All in all a very nice restaurant and, as is usually the case, when they're good, they're busy! Sometimes a long wait on the weekend and reservations are not accepted. Why not? It's the only problem with this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StamfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Zocalo Mexican Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to El Zocalo Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing