We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soon to be Bourbon Street”

Tom's BBQ Chicago Style
Ranked #235 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Gilbert
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Soon to be Bourbon Street”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Bought out recently.
Food still great.
Ribs, brisket, hamburgers, pulled meat consistently good.
Poker on Thursday and Saturdays.
Heard the football season breakfast is great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No right to call this a BBQ place”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had the misfortune of taking my family here for dinner. I was in the mood for some bbq and ribs and this place is in our neighborhood. You don't ever want to eat at this place. It will be closed in less than 6 months anyway.

The restaurant is broken out into a dining side and a bar side with no distinct separation. It's not a place for a family to eat dinner. If you want a bar scene and don't care about food, you may like it.

I asked the waitress about the ribs because I looked over at the table next to me that had already left (but had not been cleared) and there were a handful of ribs that looked way overcooked. To her credit, she was honest and said they were not good today and that's she's already received several complaints. But come on, this is a BBQ place. It says so right on the door! If you can't do ribs, you are in the wrong business.

So I ordered the 3 meat platter and chose brisket, chicken and pulled pork. When it came, it was basically dry meat with run of the mill bbq sauce poured over it. The chicken was the best as it was tender and juicy. The brisket was hard, dry and chewy. The pulled pork should have been called pulled fat because it had more fat than meat. The sauce was on par with any basic bbq sauce you can buy at the grocery store. It was meh.

My wife had the pulled pork sandwich and it was about two bites of food. She ended up eating part of mine. The portion was way too small.

The atmosphere like I said was biker bar. They had "live entertainment" which was a woman with a laptop singing karaoke way too loud for the size of the space.

Suffice it say that I won't be back. It's a shame because there are only a few restaurants in that area and it could be so much better.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimNAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Service and average food”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

You get what you pay for here, which is very little. Low prices seems to equal poor service and very average food. If you like your BBQ over cooked and really over sauced then this might be for you. My rib tips and chicken came so covered in sauce you could not tell them apart. Also the chicken was so overcooked it had become mushy. Not that our waiter noticed. He spent most of his time in the kitchen or at the computer. Really, the only think edible was the bbq beans. Even the coleslaw had chunks so large they barely fit in the bowl.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duke042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food..poor service”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a party of five for dinner. The restaurant was not very busy. The waiter took our order and the food was delivered after a wait. The food was really good - with high marks given to the bar b que and the salad with blue cheese. The waiter seemed very busy doing everything except checking on his customers. It was hard to get his attention for drink refills and finally to get our check.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“BEST rib tips”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Far and away the best rib tips in the world. The spicy sauce is the boss. Mmmmmmmm Pork sandwhich is also very good.

Helpful?
Thank mauimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's BBQ Chicago Style also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tom's BBQ Chicago Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing