We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mexican”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #4 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mexican”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We love Mexican food and eat at a lot of different types of Mexican restaurants. This meal was one of the best we've had - we will be returning, regularly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    133
    41
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Awesome Food! Great service!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We come here often because we know we will always be greeted and seated as easily as possible and the service will be attentive and friendly. Most importantly we know the food is delicious!
This last visit I tried the Pescado Mazatlan. It was brilliant! A good portion of fish with some shrimp and scallops mixed into the delightful vegetable-laden sauce. The sauce was light and lemony and every bite on my plate was delicious.
I usually get Los Mejores, which is the shrimp stuffed with a sliver of jalapeno and wrapped in bacon and the beef fillets also wrapped in bacon. I usually get the spinach casserole as both of my sides.
I suggest you order one the specials, but rest assured that the more traditional Mexican dishes are also well prepared and tasty.
Check it out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND DINING ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been to other Abuelo's restaurants in other cities and find the food at this restaurant not as good as those I have previously eaten at. Although the food was delicious it was not excellent. I found the main menu similar to those in other cities, but it lacked the specials that other restaurants have had. I do recommend this establishment as one of the better in the Mesa/Tempe/Chandler area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia Pacific
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never been dissapointed”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for the last 6 year and have never been dissapointed. The food is good and they make you feel at home. I have never been a fan of mexican food until i found abuelos. There is attention in every detail. Take for instance. Every dish that is served is served piping hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmy-jin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious dining”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do not miss the trademark potato sidedish that Abuelo's offers in addition to the standard rice side dish. The potatoes were creamy, gooey awesomeness. I couldn't decide between chicken or spinach filling for my meal, so the server suggested half and half and it was perfect! Ample portions meant no room for dessert. We ate in the first main room by the statue and enjoyed the ambiance and moderate noise level suitable for talking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing