We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good mexican food”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #5 of 664 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very good mexican food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were quickly seated on a Friday night. Good atmosphere; seemed to be new & modern. The service was great; always kept the glasses full! The house special (grilled) was recommended, but it wasn't as good as the enchiladas. Those were fantastic! The chips and salsa were also excellent. Overall a good choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    133
    41
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“good mexican food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place has wonderful atmosphere and very good food, reasonble price and the location i so center and covenient, just cross street is
chandler fashion mall, great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wlt8912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler,
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome chile rellenos!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've never been disappointed at Abuelo's, and this visit was no exception! My first time ordering the chile rellenos (I opted for the shredded beef rather than cheese) and the meal was wonderful. The only problem was portion sizes were too large to leave room for dessert!! Our server was friendly and helpful, and very attentive to us. A wonderful place to go for special occasions, or just a great meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiainChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“When visiting Arizona, the first thing to do is eat Mexican food!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I are from Vermont, so the first thing we did when we arrived in Arizona was find an authentic Mexican restaurant (there is no good Mexican food in Vermont, sad to say). Abuelo's did not disappoint. Right off the bat we were greeted by a very pleasant server who brought us chips with three types of salsa, each one distinctive and delicious. The main courses were excellent, and we also enjoyed the indoor courtyard decor- complete with statuary! Abuelo's was the perfect start to our Arizona vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Added to your food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have been to this restaurant several times and it has been fine. However, on my last trip I found an insect like a beetle crawling under one of my enchiladas. Once captured and the server called he quickly snatched our plates and callled for the duty manager. The duty manager arrived and said it must have come from outside as we were seated outside, despite the fact that it had crawled out from under the enchilada. He basically wasn't interested and didnt even initally offer a discount or an apology until we questioned him. I then sent two emails to Abuelo's company website and haven't received a reply other than the automated reply saying they will get back to you. In summary if you like added insects and lousy customer service this is the place to visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davedonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing