We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good standard fayre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #4 of 609 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good standard fayre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Standard Mexican cuisine. Well prepared and presented. Great margaritas! Check opening times as restaurnat closed at 9.00pm on the day we visited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YorksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    96
    30
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food was fresh with a great menu to choose from. The margaritas were tasty. The server was great and she brought us different kinds of salsa to try and did not charge a add on. The line up was long but they happily sent us to the bar to wait for a table. Our friend who was dining with us is from Mexico and he gave his thumbs up!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandie912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First visit of many more to come”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Today was my first stop by Abuelo's in Chandler andmy only regret is that I hadn't heard of it sooner. The interior is beautiful, the service was top notch, and the food was absolutely delicious. To top it all off, I spent about $10 less here for a party of two at lunch than I usually spend at another local Mexican restaurant, and everything about Abuelo's was better.

I'm definitely a huge fan at this point and highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mypctechs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ehh..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

i've been to other abuelo's in other towns, and this one is no different.
Lunch at 4PM on a Friday found ourselves being put in the bar area because the main dining room had exactly one server covering. we then waited more than i was happy about for the bar area server to arrive.. once he did things were fine.
food was okay, but not great.
this is your standard mexican chain. not sure i'd call it as upscale as i see some do here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daddyoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Feb. was my first time. Very good food, nice atmosphere. Loved their chips. Service was good. A better Mexican restaurant. Certainly looks upscale.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank betts18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing