We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza, incredibly indifferent service”
Review of Barro's Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barro's Pizza
Ranked #296 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Restaurant details
Colorado Springs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great pizza, incredibly indifferent service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Would you believe more than 25 minutes to get one large pizza at 2:00 p.m. on a Thursday afternoon in Chandler when only five people were in the restaurant? We waited and waited and waited. They had more staff than customers. But after 20 minutes we asked what was wrong: they muttered something (and it looked like they maybe just started making the pizza then). Nobody was apparently minding the store or the customers, but the staff seemed to be having a nice, easy time. The pizza was great; but the staff must be space cadets. Smiling, friendly airheads. Tried to make amends? Not at all. So if you want a good pizza, go there when you have all afternoon. Didn't leave a tip -- they earned what they got.

We'll be back when we have a couple of hours to spend on getting a pizza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Pizza”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Barro's is always a good value, good selection of pizza toppings, fun atmosphere, always a busy place, great supporter of high school athletics, little league baseball and other sports, very family friendly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza and wings”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

8 of us just got into Chandler, went looking for a place close to our rental and saw Barro's. Their pizza and wings are some of the best we have ever had. Everyone agreed their crust is amazing. Looks heavy but one bite and you go WOW, it's light and melts in your mouth. Good fast service and a nice atmosphere. We went in about 5pm and was only a couple of people inside, but was full by the time we left. Lots of people using take out. Good thing we don't live in Chandler because we would live at Barro's. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredRedCoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Something about the real NY taste that the other chain pizza can't replecate

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good pizza, disappointing sevice”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Visited new location at McQueen/Riggs. Was very excited to have a Barros in SE Chandler, and took family on Sunday for my daughters bd. We walked in around 4pm and there were no other customers, which was weird. We were greeted right away, and ordered 1 lrg, 1 med, 3 sodas, and 1 pitcher of bud light. $37 bucks. Ok, whatever. We sat down, and were taken back by the fact that 3 different tables were occupied by employees eating. ok, whatever. The young girl brought over our plates, which were wet. I started to hand them out but one plate had a smashed peice of pineapple on it. The girl came back and snatched the plate off the table. Came back with another one, tossed it on the table and walked away. No apology, no nothing. Now, I realize that I am at a pizza joint and dont expect 5 star service. But we are on a very tight budget and eat out very seldomly. So when I do go out to eat, I like to know that my business is appreciated, and expect to eat off of clean plates with clean silverware. Having said that, I understand that "things" happen. But I do expect the employee to at least apologize. Is that too much to ask? Considering that Barros is run by young people and teens, it might be. Now today, I have felt sick all day. Was it the pizza? maybe not. But I will not return to Barros. I doubt they'll miss my occasional business, but word of mouth can be deadly. Especially in a market where they are much more expensive than their competition. I'll stick to Bashas Brick Oven Pizza for 7 bucks.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barro's Pizza also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Barro's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing