We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine For A Family Meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrabba's Italian Grill

Carrabba's Italian Grill
Ranked #75 of 651 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
447 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Fine For A Family Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

On Saturday 3/09/2013 our family group of six met here for dinner. We have dined at Carrabba's in many other locations as it's a chain restaurant. I've read the average, poor and terrible reviews for this location and feel that they just had a rare experience. My one issue with this location was the lack of adequate handicapped parking. There are just four spaces for handicapped and four spaces for take out service. As you age and develop health issues, this becomes a concern.

Back on track for my review of Carrabba's–we had a 7PM reservation and were handed a device to let us know when our table is ready. Many feel that your reservation should be honored on time–no if, ands or buts! For those who arrive late, they fail to understand that having a table vacant is not a smart business practice. Our wait was about 10 minutes and not an issue at all.

To avoid the feeling of underwriting the meal and bar bill of others, we requested separate checks. Since some in our group do rack up a fairly large bar bill, that issue was resolved before it became an issue AGAIN.

My wife ordered the Pasta Weesie and reported it was fine. I had the Manicotti and while it was ‘ok', my wife's homemade manicotti is superior. Our meals came with a salad. We were asked if we wanted crumbled blue cheese on it? I figured it would be an extra cost but we weren't informed of that. I didn't recall noting that charge on the menu. It was no big deal having the $1.50 extra charge added but hidden charges can add up. Unlike some other restaurants, there was NO charge for additional bread.

Sophie R was our server and she was great! No hunting for her to have drinks refills or additional bread. Those arrived before any request was made. Whenever I receive above average service, I always leave a cash tip. Many restaurants share tips but I feel if one server is great, a cash tip is in order.

I highly recommend dining here–but what do I know?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PropellerJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
322 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Italian Style Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Had not tried a Carrabba's before so I thought it was time. My wife ANSI really enjoyed our meal. The service was top notch. Even though they where very busy, the wait was short and the food was serve red hot. Our meals taste fresh made. We will be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RueterRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Carryout was not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I love Carrabba's Pasta Weesie dish - fettuccine with shrimp and mushrooms. Tonight I ordered it as carryout, and I regret that. The shrimp were really good, the mushrooms were fine, and there was lots of garlic - yum! But the fettuccine was stuck together in a blob. It's probably difficult to do a great job of a fettuccine dish as carryout. So it's not totally fair to judge this dish by my experience. Try Pasta Weesie sometime - but get it IN the restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pfafftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh NOT Frozen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

One of the few large italian places that cooks from scratch. Prices are a bit higher than Olive Garden with rubber chicken, but well worth IT! This is a must visit, fresh not frozen resturant. Food will take a bit longer to prepare, and you can change what the ravioli is stuffed with.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachBuzzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good italian food at a good price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good italian food at a good price! This is part of a chain but the quality is much better than average. I liked the variety and the different ingredients.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bmb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing