We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel and grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just stayed at the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass. Room was a little small but not bad. Everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. The grounds are very nice with that native American vibe, streams and manicured but rustic. I was on the fourth floor and the only dig about this hotel is that elevator are few and far between so you may have to utilize stairs more than you might want too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charg3rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review after your recent stay. It sounds like you enjoyed the resort, ambiance and comfort of your guestroom. We are so glad to hear that it was a nice stay.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    424
    116
    56
    43
See reviews for
325
293
73
481
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here during November 2013 for a conference. The hotel was ideal in many ways, with well-appointed rooms, good service, and excellent restaurant and lots of little corners to have private chats as well as some good sized ballrooms for the main sessions.

The inside of the hotel was complemented with an excellent 2.5 mile trail through the desert, with instructive signs indicating which critters to avoid and what the different plants were.

The hotel restaurant is very highly rated but we were unable to obtain a reservation, so went to a nearby place called Cork, in Chandler.

The main downside to this hotel is that it is fairly isolated from Chandler and Phoenix unless you have a car. Calling a taxi often resulted in a 30 minute wait, while the vehicle travelled from quite some distance away to collect the passengers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tubbydammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and our service. It sounds like you made the most of our amentities and really enjoyed our outdoor Interpretive Trail. We are sorry that you experienced a delay in the taxi arrival. We hope to host you again.

Thank you again for taking time to share details about your recent visit.

Sincerely,
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This resort is just beautiful and I was very impressed by the service received by all the staff---lobby, bar, and restaurants. They offer a shuttle to nearby facilities (outlet mall, casino) and their spa is very nice.

Room Tip: I had issues with delayed flights so actually stayed in a room on both major wings of the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T0niL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take a great deal of pride in our service, we are more than pleased to hear that you had an exceptional experience. We are glad you were able to enjoy the nearby attractions. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We selected this resort to celebrate our upcoming anniversary and booked a suite. Later in the evening when we were ready for bed, we discovered the sprinkler over our bed was covered with a very thick spider web with bugs in it! There were also thick spider webs covering the window treatment and a thick layer of dust on the lamp shades in the bedroom. There were also quarter-sized mold spots on the ceiling. I have asthma and had to utilize my rescue inalher due to the dust and became very congested. It was already late by the time we were ready for bed and we had to wait up until after 11:00 for housekeeping to come in and thoroughly dust the room and change the sheets. After multiple visits by housekeeping and calls from the Front Desk, we were offered a $50 credit toward breakfast/dinner and over 2,000 SPG points. The next morning, the housekeeping engineer assured us that he would speak to the hotel manager on our behalf and they would make everything right. At this time, we have still not met or spoken to a hotel manager. The Front Desk and Housekeeping staff were cordial and apologetic however, for the amount of money we spent on a suite for 4 nights, the condition of the room upon arrival was unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Selina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share details from your recent stay. We are very sorry if it was anything less than perfect. We were happy that you connected with our Housekeeping team while on property and that we were able to correct all issues while you were with us. Our resort leaders pride themselves on creating efficient solutions for our guests during their stay and we were glad that you left with resolution and happy with your stay. We hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The property is very nice, however during our visit there was construction going on in a couple of rooms surrounding our room. There were a lot of distractions with doors slamming throughout the day and into the evening as well as construction sounds interrupting our time. I am disappointed that the hotel staff would put any guest in this portion of that facility knowing that construction was going on. I like the area but am disappointed in the sever lack of customer service. We checked out a day early and moved to a different resort.

Room Tip: Verify that there will not be construction in your surrounding area. But the 3rd story views are ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort and Spa I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience we have caused you during your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate the feedback you provided, as it helps us in our efforts to improve upon guest experience. We naturally want our guests to be comfortable during their stay and take with them only fond memories of their visit to the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass.

Our resort is undergoing a small renovation in our suites. We do try to make every effort to ensure our guests are not impacted by the construction, for this I again apologize. I truly wish we could have moved you to another part of the resort that was not impacted by the construction. We hope to see you soon and assure you that we can provide you an enjoyable stay experience and even exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Director of Engineering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have to say I am extremely disappointed with my stay at this resort. I had stayed here before and didn't have any issues however that was quite the opposite this stay. The staff were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. We had dinner at the bar where the bar staff and manager where more concerned about carrying on conversations amongst themselves than serving the guests. Three separate people came up and asked the staff if they needed to order at the bar or if someone would coming to the surrounding tables to take their order. They were told to go sit down that someone would come around. We had a difficult time ordering and we were sitting at the bar as they were generally rude and short. The last straw came when I noticed really little black bugs (the size of fleas) crawling on the bathroom floor. I killed the first few and noticed that more were coming in. I went to the front desk and notified David. After 2 hours of no calls or anyone showing up I noticed the bugs were not just crawling in the bathroom but towards the room as well. I went back down to the front desk and spoke with David again and told him no one showed up. I asked to speak with a manager and was told he was the only one there. I notified him that we would be checking out and called SPG to book a room at another hotel. Any hotel would have worked. SPG called the hotel and 5 minutes later Lisa Mercer called (a manager) and apologized for her staff's response as she had been there since 8:30am. Lisa was very helpful and should be commended for stepping into a situation that David clearly didn't handle correctly and lied about. As a Platinum CEM I've stayed at hotels all over the country and have to say the staff here is the worst that I've ever experienced....except for Lisa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As a result of your post we communicated with all of the mentioned associates and departments and heard the story. We are happy that we were able to address your concerns while here and hope to have you back for a stay in the future.

Sincerely,
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Sheraton has great specials!!! We stayed here for their Black Friday shopping special at the Phoenix Premium Outlet stores. The location of this property is great, close to the freeway, close to the casino and Bondourant. The beds and pillows are very comfortable

Room Tip: ask for a bottom floor if you want easy access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZ85603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our “Shop Black Friday” promotion and the shopping at the nearby Premium Outlets. Our property’s location is meant to portray the feeling of escaping from the bustling city, yet without being too far away from it. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Sincerely,
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Property: Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing