We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Nearby Hotels
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Chandler(Chandler)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$85
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino(Chandler)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Chandler)(Great Value!)
$49
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Chandler(Chandler)(Great Value!)
$85
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Phoenix Chandler/Fashion Center(Chandler)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chandler Southgate Hotel(Chandler)(Great Value!)
$85
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
860
498
136
73
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
860
498
136
73
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseaji spaboat ridehorseback ridingwater slidesko sinko'sin restaurantgreat resortpool areagila riverwestern townstar restaurantinterpretive trailwalking trailswild horse passnearby casinoconference center
Filter
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night before returning back home, since we had been here before and had such a enjoyable experience we wanted to return..

We were welcomed upon coming into the Front Door and the bellman was helpful in getting our stuff and brought inside...

The front desk staff (who was from Roanoke, VA) was helpful in answering questions and all..we had requested a room in the Maricopa Wing, but was told that there were no rooms available on that side and we were put in the Pima Wing (Room 3032).

A little unhappy, but were told nothing was available, even though hotel was only at 12% occupancy...

The pool area which is very vast, was very inviting and comfortable, and the adult pool which is deeper (5 feet) was nice as usual..

The views were excellent of the sunset and of the Dust Devil tornadoes that were around...

The room we had was nice and had a very comfortable bed and a view of the Pool through some trees and of the mountains (facing west)

The only drawback, was our favorite restaurant Kai (was closed) until the middle of September)..

Rawhide was closed indefinately, because of a monster storm that had struck three weeks previous and blew most of it to the ground, and the waterslide was closed for maintenance while were there..

I did play golf at Whirlwind and that was another awesome experience, thanks to the staff at the golf shop for giving us a lift back to the hotel, since we didn't have to wait for the shuttle (which runs through every 20-25 minutes)

We didn't have dinner there, since only one place was open, however there is a huge shopping area about a 10 minute drive away, with numerous restaurant options (to fit all types) of cravings..

Will return again and hopefully next time when things are open...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the room and leisure amenities. The Kai team is excited to announce our reopen September 5th. We hope your travels bring you back to the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa to visit Kai Restautrant again soon! Please let us know if we can be of assistance in any way.

Sincerely,

Kai Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This resort is a Starwood property and is very nice. I common areas are nice, the pool area is great and the spa is very nice as well. Sorry, did not see any wild horses! Wish I did. Their is not alot to do within walking distance, but their is plenty to do within a 10 minute drive. You can take a really nice little boat ride to Rawhide, which is fun. The saloon/steaskhouse is not bad either. Their is also a local casino not far, if your into that sort of thing. All in all a niceresort. The only downfall - their are not alot of elevators. So if your on the second floor or above and your not close to an elevator it can be a long walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa2735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed many of our resort offerings, including the spa, boat ride and nearby Rawhide. We hope that you will return and visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our third visit to the Sheraton Wild Horse- We keep returning because of the wonderfully serene atmosphere. You are immediately immersed in peace upon entering the front doors. This stay did not disappoint. We LOVE being totally away from everything! This visit we took the WHOLE family- 8 of us sharing 2 rooms. We had plenty of space with our adjoining rooms. Our room was quite comfy and beds awesome- no complaints and housekeeping helped us out by providing much needed extra shampoo and conditioner for our girls :)

Our children had a wonderful time in the pools, which, we found to be in perfect condition. Only one pool seemed a little 'dirtier' than all the rest and I attributed it to the shallowness with much more use with children. The adult pool was as blue as can be, and pristine, with not a speck or dirt to be found. (And because I'm picky, believe me, I'd find it!) Hanyo poolside grill has tasty food and the best smoothies ever!

The staff is simply wonderful and extremely accommodating. One member of our party needed to find eardrops, so they personally shuttled her to a drug store to find what she needed.

Upon arrival we were very upset to find that Rawhide had been shut down due to a monsoon a few weeks prior. The staff told us about Rustler's Roost, so we went there instead, and think we actually enjoyed it a little more. Love Rawhide, but with the heat, it was very comfortable to be totally indoors with an unparalleled view of the Phoenix lights. The kids had an absolute blast and the food was amazing!

Took the shuttle to the Outlets one evening to save money by eating at their food court. The outlets were quite modern and the family enjoyed shopping in the upscale outlets.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are thrilled to know that your experience here continues to be a memorable one. We will share this story of success with our staff, as they enjoy hearing the outcome of all their hard work. The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa has a perfect balance of being surrounded by the natural elements while providing great access to all the other amenities the Phoenix area has to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you again.

Sincerely, Housekeeping Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We live locally and like to escape here for a night or two. I think we've stayed here 6 times over the past 15 months so we've got a good feel for the place.

For a couple looking for a local escape at a great summer price, this is an excellent option. If you look for their summer deals in April or May, you will find some excellent specials. I booked two summer stays for $99 per night -- but it also included a $50 resort food/beverage credit per-day (note: the food/beverage credit is only good on a per-day basis and there is no carryover – meaning if you used $0 of your credit on Friday, you won’t have a $100 credit for Saturday.) Obviously the rates in the fall/winter/spring increase by about 3 to 4 times. Do note that the resort now charges a $20 per-day per-room resort fee.

Their rooms are extremely comfortable, peaceful, and well apportioned. The beds are exceptionally comfortable. Each room comes with a patio and the curtains do a very good job of keeping out the sunlight in the morning. The deluxe rooms are nicely laid out for two people. If you spend a little more money and upgrade to an Executive room, your space about doubles. Our rooms have always been clean. If you don’t want an accessible room, be sure to let them know when you book your reservation. Considering the resort is quite nice, we find it funny that they provide disposable plastic drinking cups in the rooms – as opposed to glass. If you are a Starwood Platinum or Gold member they will upgrade you to a poolside room view – but be sure to request it just in case. I am no longer a Starwood Platinum or Gold member but as a preferred member they have been good about upgrading this as well. Also note that some resorts/hotels are great about providing room upgrades to their Platinum and Gold member when available, but from my experience, this resort is not one of them. I have never received a room upgrade here – even when I know for a fact that they were at low occupancy.

The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout and has a very open environment.

The pool area could use better lounge chairs. Poolside food and beverage service is almost always slow. I usually end up walking to the pool bar and ordering. They seem to run out of towels semi-frequently.

Note where the resort is located. We like just hanging out at the resort, spa, & golf course but depending upon your goals, you may want to have a car with you. They do have shuttle service to the nearby casino and outlet mall. And by the way, Whirlwind is a great golf course.

Smoking should not be allowed near the pool and should only be allowed in out of the way designated areas. They need to change this.

If you “self-park” note that it is a bit of a walk uphill to the lobby. When it’s 108 degrees, this can be an issue. However, directly west of the self-park about 25-50 yards is an easy entrance on the same level. You still have to walk a ways to the lobby but at least you're inside with air conditioning. Also, you should consider asking for a room on this side of the resort for easy entry/exit.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

We've eaten at Kai once and Ko’sin several times. The food and service has always been great. The bar service has been excellent as well.

The only downside on the summer resort deal is that more recently we've noticed that it seems to draw a bit of the “cooler” crowd. These are the people who bring their own very large cooler loaded with alcohol and they’re not necessarily looking to moderate their booze intake. We would not come here during a summer holiday.

My only gripe is that recently I asked for a 2PM checkout and was told that they would have to charge me $50. As I mentioned I am no longer a Starwood Platinum or Gold member (just “Preferred”), but as I mentioned we have stayed here a half-dozen times over the past 15 months – so to want to stick me with a $50 charge was disappointing. I’m guessing they also look at the rate I’m paying when making the decision to charge $50, but we always run up a pretty good food, beverage, spa, and golf tab while we’re there.

We’ll definitely come back again, but since I am a Platinum with Marriott, Hilton, and IHG, given the additional benefits this membership provides, we will start checking out some other local resorts as well.

Room Tip: Request a southside room (entrance is close to the self-park area) with a poolside view, non-accessible (unless you need it - of course), away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veritastraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

We love to hear about repeat local guests coming to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the room cleanliness and overall feel of the resort. Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your kind words about Kai and our entire resort staff. We will be sure to pass along your compliments. We are sorry that we could not grant your late checkout on the particular day in question. We hope to meet that expectation next time.

Sincerely,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This summer I wanted to visit 3 different resorts in Az and desided on this resort as one of my stops. When we visited in the middle of July of course it was hot and we love the heat. The large open lobby with indian murals on the walls was breathtaking. The views of the desert went on for miles and you could see the dust blowing from all the wild mustangs running by. I give this a 3 rating as it seems the resort needs to work on keeping the pools cleaner and they are in need of repairs. The pools needed to be re plastered in a few of them. You could see them peeling. There was also a musty smell in the rooms. All of the staff working was very nice and easy to deal with though. I really liked the food quality and a excellent steak I had at the casual restaurant. As a travel agent I try to keep up with all the resorts I send my clients to. I hope they can work on getting the pools in order soon.

Room Tip: Get a suite for the most room and nicer amenities!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and review.
We are glad that you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed our sweeping views and our cultural artwork. I have shared your few concerns with our relevant department leaders. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff. We hope that you will return to visit us soon.

Sincerely,
PR Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews