We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our two year anniversary while visiting a friend who lives locally. The staff was very friendly and even gave us a room upgrade when we told them it was our anniversary. The lobby is gorgeous (and they constantly have beautiful music playing on their speakers throughout the hotel), the pool is amazing, our room was great and very comfy. You get what you pay for (because you will likely pay a lot), and the hotel is pretty big, so it was a long walk from the lobby to our room, but our stay was lovely, and in the end, we even wished we could have spent more time at the hotel during our weekend in Arizona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy Anniversary! We know how meaningful an anniversary can be and are honored that you chose to celebrate your milestone with us. It sounds as though your stay was a memorable one and we are happy to have been a part of your special day.

Thank you for sending us your sentiments. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    460
    124
    67
    49
See reviews for
360
310
75
532
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has some amazing features... The pool area, the spa, a couple great areas to lounge, and the staff were all very friendly (minus one overwhelmed server at the pool). Having said that, I was disappointed with some things I consider very basic... Our TV in the room didn't work (even after someone came to fix it), we never got a new set of soap/shampoo over our 4 days, room service food was mediocre at best, they charge you extra every time you use the gym, etc. At the rates they charge, I just would've expected a little better. I stayed there 3 years ago and thought it was incredible, so maybe I'd just built it up too much in my memory.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleKalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Director of Restaurants and Bars at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that we have been a part of helping your creat lasting memories. It is never our intention to take away from those but rather build and make your experience even more impressive each time. I am saddened and to learn of the fundamental breakdowns that occurred during your stay. Please let us know who you talked to for the TV and the housekeeping issues. We want to follow up with them directly. In the meantime, we will be sure to address them with both teams. We aspire to change, grow and become better. We want guests that were with us three years ago to have that same warm return. I think you will be very pleased with some of the aesthetic and culinary improvements we are undergoing and hope for a visit in the future to expand on those incredible memories! We hope you will give us that chance.

Sincerely,

The Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Managment Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Wild Horse Pass Resort is located only about 20 minutes from Sky Harbor Airport, although the surrounding area is mostly big-box stores so you don't have a city experience or the proximity of walkable attractions. It's got a big pool area and 2 18-hole layouts which offer a decent desert golf challenge. Riding stables and a well-equipped spa on property are handy. For a family, the pool area is large with a big waterside and the architectural design and finishes are interesting as they reflect the Pima and Maricopa Indian heritages. From a meeting perspective, there are lots of breakout rooms and the main ballrooms are practically designed with high ceilings. In addition, the banquet representatives and staff are extremely helpful and professional.

Room Tip: If you're attending a conference, request a room in the Pima wing. Some rooms can be located a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakesiderToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about the resort. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in offering a range of amenities and services to accommodate guests’ from all around the world. We look forward to your return to Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa, and having the opportunity to enjoy any additional activities that you were not able to experience on your most recent stay.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to finish a roadtrip in March. Enjoyable grounds and Pima-inspired designs and architecture. The place to be if you are into golf or spa. Big, but big enough to avoid conference crowds and find a nice spot by the pool. Our 9-year old did the waterslide non-stop and had a great time with hourly kids activities. Wireless in room for a fee, but free in the lobby and bars. Gets pricey having meals on the property. Restaurant food is tasteful, although selection rather small and service stumbling at times. Room - standard comfortable, takes some walking to get around. No problem if not in hurry. Easy drive to PHX airport.

Room Tip: Ask how far down the wing the room is, not to be surprized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reisijad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review of your recent stay. We love receiving feedback from our guests and are thankful that you have provided us with yours. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and hope that great memories were made throughout your stay. We take pride in sharing the rich history and culture of the Pima and Maricopa people and are glad that you appreciated this aspect of our resort. Please come see us again the next time your make your way to Arizona. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Sincerely, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The resort is very large and it can be quite a hike from your room to the lobby and even further to the meeting rooms. The rooms were starting to show some wear and tear. There are no shelves or drawers in the bathroom. So you have to put your things on the floor. Not a good idea. The drawers in the room are almost as bad. Assuming 2 travellers, you have 3 small drawers each. Not near enough room.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The service around the pool as very slow at best. The pool area itself was nice.
Whirlpool golf was awesome as was Kia for dinning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share highlights and areas of opportunity from your recent visit. We take your thoughts and concerns very seriously.
I am happy to hear that our associates connected with you in a friendly and helpful way. We pride ourselves on a very attentive staff and I am happy to hear that you experienced that. I am sorry to hear, that there were areas of opportunity with regard to your room experience. While we underwent a room renovation and upgrade recently, we regret to know that the room felt worn out to you.

We hope to welcome you back on another visit and leave a new and improved impression.

Sincerely,

The Sheraton Wild Horse Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Decide to stay and visit over Spring Break based on a recommendation from our AAA agent, very thankful we did. Stayed 3/28-4/2. Since we would be at the hotel on Easter and traveling with a 7 yr. old I contacted the Concierge, GiGi ahead of time to plan our holiday. We emailed back and forth a few times then made phone contact to make sure we were satisfied with options she gave. She followed up within confirmation emails as things were scheduled. She even sent us the Kid's Club Calendar so we would know when there were activities for our son. GiGi's customer service is excellent! She was prompt, friendly, informative and above all exceeded our expectations for our trip. I stopped to thank her for all her assistance and it was like seeing an old friend. From that point forward we always got a smile, wave and if close by she would check to see how our stay was going! Some of the activities we planned and throughly enjoyed were; horseback riding at Koli Equestrian Center, day trip to Sedona, visit to Rawhide Western Town, Cultural tour with Rosie on site(will comment on later in review) and a visit to Aji Spa. We did relax by the pool, where we were able to enjoy lunch and beverages. Our son made some friends and played in the pool or on the awesome water slide.

Our room was in the last hallway of Maricopa with a view of the mountains and golf course. The room had two queen beds, chair & ottoman, desk & chair, dresser with flat screen a counter with complimentary coffee/ tea & machine. There was a mini bar but we opted to not accept the key at check-in. Bathroom has a small glass shower stall and a separate bathtub. Only one sink & small vanity. Our balcony had a table, chair and two seat bench which was nice in the morning to have coffee.

Our room attendant (Saylene T) was very friendly and kept are room clean and stocked. Even the complimentary water, which was very helpful!

As for the Cultural Tour, while talking to GiGi about wanting to learn a little bit about the local culture she recommended a tour with their Cultural teacher, Rosie. I am amazed at what an ambassador Rosie is, not only for Sheraton but for the local Native Americans. She truly enjoys what she does and it was an honor to spend an hour learning about the Pima and Maricopa people and those who have supported these tribes and their culture. I would strongly recommend trying to schedule time with Rosie you will not be disappointed. Note that near the Link Cafe there are book shelves that you can borrow cultural books to read...the are some children's books as well.

The one area Wild Horse could improve on is dining options. Starting with breakfast there are two options; first a Starbuck's coffee bar(Link Cafe)with some grab and go. The second is Ko'sin, which had the same breakfast buffet everyday. There are some items to order off a menu but limited. As with most resorts fairly pricey for what you get. A number of families were complaining that the breakfast buffet was so expensive on Easter( $70/adult). We did not participate so I can not comment on items and value. We chose to order room service so our son could spend time looking for eggs and checking out his basket of goodies! We were up earlier than expected and called to see if we could have the meal delivered a hour earlier and they made it happen. Food was presented well and hot things were hot! Gentleman who delivered( sorry cant remember his name) very friendly.

While speaking about Ko'sin we had Easter dinner here and the food was fabulous as was the service! I am so sorry I forget our waiter and assistants name but the were both great! We started with the prawn cocktail and sushi roll, wonderful. Then my husband and I both had the filet mignon and it melted in your mouth. Our waiter was nice enough to suggest a Malbec wine that paired really well with our meal.

A few things I would recommend if you have children. Pay the $35/stay to have a refrigerator in your room. If you have children under 12 you can sign up for a purple kids club band at the main desk. It cost $15/day for the length of your stay. Basically what this band does is allows the children drinks all day (not smoothies) and their meals are free when an adult buys something. We found that after breakfast, snack and 2-3 drinks it was worth it.

I wanted to mention that the front door staff...all of them were very friendly, prompt and always offered bottled water. A few names of staff from the pool (Hanyo Grill) whose service should be noted; Max P., Jacob, Jeremy M. They were friendly, fast and efficient!

We will be visiting Wild Horse Pass again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We cannot thank you enough for such amazing compliments. If I did not already love it here, I would jump at a chance to stay at this resort after reading your review.

Our goal is to always offer warm service and connect with our guests. Gigi has the innate ability to make each and every guest feel as if they are part of her family as well as our family. She stands out as one of (if not the best) concierges we have had the pleasure to work with.

Thank you again for the kind words about many of our outstanding staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Valley of the Sun!

Sincerely,
Reservations Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This large resort left me with the impression it caters primarily to conventions and large groups which was the primary reason for our five day stay. Secondarily, I would guess the place to be family friendly. It is part of the Gila River Indian community’s complex that also includes two golf courses, casino, Aji Spa, Koli Equestrian Center, Rawhide Wild West Theme park and a soon to open Premium Outlets mall. Throw in tennis courts and walking/jogging trail along an artificial river for other diversions. The resort is in a remote location and a rental car is essential.
The architecture follows a southwestern Native American theme and the hotel is a massive adobe style structure that is very spread out. The walk to your room can be lengthy. The foyer and lobby overlook a three story atrium that is anchored by a massive boulder formation with a bubbly brook flowing down it and across the lounge out to the exterior patio. The hotel’s lounge is located on the atrium’s lower level and it features a cocktail bar, large adobe style stone wall with built in fireplace, Starbucks bar, state of the art LINK@Sheraton technology lounge and a couple of shopping venues.
The exterior is a vast patio setting, the centerpiece of which is a large fire pit for bonfires. The pool complex lies beyond the patio. It is comprised of several pools one of which has a very large water slide. A dining and cocktail venue is located at poolside. The property is beautifully landscaped consistent with its desert location.
The room was located on ground level providing for an exterior patio with chairs and table. Décor follows the Native American motif. The room was furnished with two queen beds, night stand with lamp, causal chair with accompanying floor lamp, desk set, dresser with a large flat panel TV atop and a mini-bar with a complimentary coffee service. There is a personal in-room safe for your valuables. There is an internet fee for guests who are not part of a meeting group. I believe it is in the area of $12.00 per diem. Internet connectivity was very good. The valet parking per diem charge is $22.00. Self-parking is available although it’s a hike. The bathroom was fixtured with a single basin vanity, commode, bathtub and a separate walk-in shower. The room’s convention rate was $222.88.
Other than Kai, food service was a monumental let down. On our first night everything was booked because of a large group in house, consequently we had to eat in the cocktail lounge. It was severely understaffed and the wait staff was overwhelmed thus table service was dismal. The following two nights we dined in Ko Sin, the hotel’s casual restaurant. Dinner for two including a bottle of wine will cost you in the range of $100.00 - $125.00. The most dismal table service is reserved for breakfast which features an extensive buffet. Getting a water or coffee refill takes an Act of Congress and it was not due to under staffing. The wait staff is not out in the dining venue. For whatever reason, they tend to stay in the kitchen. The poor dining service is compounded by the fact the hotel is remotely located so to seek alternative casual dining venues requires an effort.
On a more positive note is Kai, the resort’s fine dining venue. We tried to eat there on the first four nights of our stay and were told it was fully booked. I was told the same thing for our last night so I called the hotel manager to complain. He arranged a table for us and it was worth the effort. Of particular note is the table service. It is stellar. World class. How service in the other dining venues in the same complex can be so dismal is a mystery. In addition to the wait staff, Kai has a knowledgeable sommelier service. Dinner with cocktails and a bottle of Pinot Noir was $288 inclusive of gratuities.
The resort’s concierge was very helpful. As a large group venue, the resort is credible. I would not consider it for a personal stay. Phoenix has so many more appealing alternatives.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Director of Restaurants & Bars at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First off, your articulation of our property is very impressive and we enjoy when our guests appreciate the details that go into our design and ambiance. As far as the let downs with our food service, we are extremely disappointed that was your impression.

There is no area of our property or approach in our service where we don’t strive for an extra sense of connection with our guests. The attentiveness of our breakfast service is no exception to that. We appreciate the extensive feedback and embrace the opportunity to address all areas of concern. I will ensure our Kai team and concierge receive the kinds words you have expressed.

Sincerely,
Director of Restaurants & Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Property: Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing