We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A resort with character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A resort with character”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our family stayed at the resort for 2 nights (they had an offer for $99 per night - a bargain for a room for 4). The resort is not your typical Sheraton Hotel. The decor and ambience bring about a relaxing and peaceful environment.
The pool area is lovely, with views of the mountains, golf course and even wild horses in the distance. My husband enjoyed the golf course and my kids loved the water slide. There is a shuttle that will take you to the stables, where you can sign up for lessons or a short trail ride. The gondola ride is fun for small children.
Bedrooms are clean and comfortable. The main downside was the cost of the food - it was incredibly expensive for everything from a coffee to a dinner on the terrace.
We went out of season and were disappointed that the advertised children's program was not running, but the manager brought out the ingredients for s'mores and lit the outside fire so that we could roast our marshmallows - a lovely gesture that our kids really appreciated.
I'd recommend for a short trip - it's about a 15 min drive into Chandler.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shineygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    457
    122
    65
    49
See reviews for
355
310
74
526
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This resort is a very nice property, rooms are top notch, well appointed with comfortable bed, nice furnishings...room service was good, staff was nice and quick at check in...the room seemed like a mile from the front desk, but after check in you can park closer to the room and walk down the stairs to save some steps...there is nothing else around without a drive of some length to find other food choices, and there are plenty of good ones within 10-15 minutes....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigHarleyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Its always nice to get away to a warm place during winter but this resort exceeded our expectations. Great resort with a fantastic golf course! Kai restaurant is amazing and a must for dinner. The pool is great and had a pool side bar. A separate kids pool made it nice for couples and adults to enjoy the rest. At night they have a fire pit by the pool area which made it nice to hang out and unwind at night. This resort has a world class spa and highly recommend checking it out. If you get a chance to stay in Phoenix this resort has got to be the place!

Room Tip: They have suites with views of the pool and overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We called at 9 am on Christmas morning for reservations and were checked into our room at 10am. Beautiful resort. Clean up to date rooms and a fabulous bathroom . We were there 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the staff were professional and helpful. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Arizona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hankmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our business took us to Chandler (business meaning visiting my sister's 6-week-old son.) We typically stay at the Squaw Peak Hilton Resort because of its mini-golf, lazy river and all-suite hotel, but decided to be closer in Chandler. I miss the Hilton and would definitely recommend that hotel over Wild Horse Pass, especially for families.

But because it was December, the Hilton's amenities would probably go unused on this trip so we decided to stay at the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass.

Sorry Sheraton, this place didn't convert me away from Hiltons and Marriotts, my primary hotel chains.

The service tone is very often set when you walk in through the front door (which I had to open myself and schlep my bags). No one seemed particuarly happy that we were there.

The restaurants at this resort are off the charts in terms of expensive. It's in a remote location with absolutely nothing in walking distance. (Not even the casino, which I thought was going to be close.) So if you want a meal off-site, be prepared to drive. If you do decide to eat there, be prepared to pay! A cup of tea at the Starbucks there was I think north of $4.00!

There are two dining options and moderately priced is not an option at Wild Horse. There's expensive (and not child friendly) and less-expensive and a little child-friendly. Seriously, the prices for food at this place are off the charts. The food was perhaps too adventurous for my palate. My wife ordered a chicken dish at the pool and got something that was way, way too spicey and overly creative for pool fare.

The less-expensive restaurant, where we ate dinner and breakfast, is in a horrible space. Incredibly loud. With sound bouncing off the walls and floors, with nothing to absorb the sound. Forget about relaxing in this space, especially if there's a larger group of diners in your room, which each seemed to accomodate half-a-dozen tables. The menu didn't seem to have anything normal. I'm all for getting out of my comfort zone but offer some traditional items as well. Order pancakes for breakfast, and you get some novelle-cuisine type grilled pancakes, served on corn husks, with some kind of weird butter. It's all well and good to offer such adventurous cuisine, but have something basic for those of us who just want a hearty breakfast rather than something you'd see on Food Network! That said, there are probably a lot of you saying 'what's this guy's problem, sounds delightful!" Just offering you my opinion.

My wife ordered a vodka/pineapple, which was served with unrequested, premium vodka for $9.00. The budget version, which I got her the next night, was $8.00. Just seemed pricey to me, but maybe that's consistent with what high end resorts charge.

The grounds are delightful, the hotel not so much. As others have noted on here, it's a long way to get to your room from check-in. Be prepared to walk. In terms of noise level, there is no downside to getting a room close to reception. It was a quiet hotel, even with a bunch of Michigan State fans staying at the hotel for some football game.

I was generally underwhelmed by this resort. It just didn't resonate with me or make an emotional connection. Again, it was a cool December, so we weren't able to spend a lot of time enjoying the outdoors.

My wife and son did want me to single out the Equestrian Center staff, and rightfully so. They were very friendly and my wife and son had a wonderful trail ride which they thoroughly recommend.

One safety note. The pools have no lifeguards; swim at your own risk, which is fair enough. But the waterslide was really an attractive nuisance to the children who were using it. I should have snapped pictures of the girls walking down it and the kids going down head first, on their backs. All well and good until someone bumps into someone else, which I witnessed. This hotel really does need to have some adult supervision on the waterslide making sure that kids don't go down four in a row and clunk heads when they land in the water.

I was underwhelmed by the Sheraton Wild Horse Pass and won't rush back, especially in the off season. It is very pretty and rooms were nice and quiet.
Didn't float my boat, but might float yours.

Finally, just want to mention the computer center. This hotel has figured out the internet thing. Charge a ton of money in the room, but offer it for free in the lobby, which is reasonable. You get 45 minutes free, once you enter your name and room number, courtesy of your friends at Microsoft. Their sponsorship was a great way for people to use their products while holding the cost of internet access.

Finally, would have been nice to have a king room, with a sofa bed for the kid. Instead we wound up with 2 full-sized beds, which meant the wife and I were cramped and the kid slept like a king!

Room Tip: Don't think there are any bad rooms at this hotel. Views across the parking lot or the resort w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Beautiful facility with grand buildings and modern, spacious rooms. Everything about the structure is top notch, with an inspired, open lobby with enchanting murals painted on the ceiling. Room furnishings are modern and comfortable, and we never heard any sounds from the active family next door. The grounds are well landscaped, including nice running trails that provide some interpretive access to the scenery. It seems like the resort was built with a fine eye to being a pretty spectacular showcase.

Everyday operation and service, however, were disappointing. We were mis-informed at check-in that there was a complimentary fitness center in the hotel building, and only after fruitlessly looking around for it, were we told that access to the fitness center required a $20 day pass for the Aji spa center in the next building. No amends were offered for this mistake. The swimming pool complex nicely offered several different pools and an entertaining water slide popular with the kids, but the large pools were uncomfortably cold in December. We never got the additional towels asked for delivered to our room. Everyone was friendly enough, but little flaws in the service didn’t live up to the resort atmosphere, so I didn’t really feel willing to indulge in the rather expensive prices for on-site meals and activities. The spa and equestrian center at the resort are great ideas, but we didn’t try them. And, it would take just a little training to address these service issues and improve the overall resort experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAFamilyRvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We aim to provide flawless service for each of our guests and are disappointed to hear that we did not achieve this throughout your stay. We understand that friendliness alone does not make for an excellent experience and we are sorry to see that we missed the mark.

We believe that feedback is a powerful tool and are appreciative that you have taken the time to provide us with details from your stay. We will certainly review your concerns with our staff and use these areas of opportunity as a learning experience for our team.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

ok- first the downside. This place is huge- so it will be a long walk to your room. There are stairwells evenly spaced out- we were able to take the stairs and were at our car very quick. That is the ONLY downside.
Now the good- this place is amazing! The lobby is very comfortable with sitting areas and fire places. There is a waterfall and a native American mural in the ceiling. There is a fire pit outside that was also very nice to sit at- even though the nights were chilly. Room was very nice- large bathroom- tub and shower. We had a balcony that overlooked the golf course and mountains- sunset was beautiful. There is a huge pool with a water slide.
The spa connected to the hotel was very relaxing. There is a fitness room, saunas, and even a pool- in case the one at the resort is full of kids. We spent a very relaxing day here. It is a little pricey, but it is a good splurge for a day. A side note- I looked into many resorts in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area- most charge a resort fee of $25 and up. There is no resort fee, so you just pay for what you use.
The hotel offers a boat ride on the river to the western town Rawhide and the neighboring casino. Recommended. There is also some very nice hiking trails around the area. This resort is not really near anything- there are a lot of shops and restaurants a few exits up the highway- but for a nice getaway- this is the place. We hope to return every year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHeckathorne, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We value receiving feedback from our guests and appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with a detailed review of your recent stay.

We see that you took advantage of many of our resort’s amenities and are happy to learn that you had a memorable experience. The boat cruise is a fan favorite and we are glad that you agree.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Sanstead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass

Property: Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass
Address: 5594 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Gila River Indian Community, Chandler, AZ 85226-5400 (Formerly Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chandler
#6 Business Hotel in Chandler
#8 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass is located in the Sonoran Desert on an expanse of rugged Arizona landscape where the ancient vistas, mountains, and roaming wild horses remain untouched. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand at Wild Horse Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler
Sheraton Chandler
Chandler Sheraton
Sheraton Wild Horse Pass Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing