We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time to cool off” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paletas Betty

Paletas Betty
Ranked #50 of 651 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
412 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Time to cool off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

With the Arizona heat what it is, it’s nice to find a little place that will help cool you off, Paletas Betty. Hidden in downtown Chandler, it’s a place you need to hunt down since it’s location isn’t exactly the best. Maybe the location of Paletas Betty is what makes it a hidden gem. At Paletas Betty they serve 1 thing and 1 thing only, fruit and cream pops.

This isn’t you normal otter pop that you can get at the store, each one on the pops is locally made by hand. When I stopped in I wanted to get a fresa con crema, strawberries and cream. Unfortunately they were out of them when I stopped in. So I settled for naranja, orange cream. While I say I settled for it, it was well worth settling for. Depending on how you attack this item, licking it or biting into it, you will taste the flavor in the pop. The naranja tastes kind of like a orange cream sickle, but with more flavor. While at Paletas Betty I also sampled the pura piña, which is basically a pineapple pop. Just like the previous pop, it was full of flavor. In a way it tasted like frozen pineapple juice with a cream flavor added in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cjschreiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful delicious popsicles! Lovely atmosphere, clean well lit place to relax. Always a sweet smiling lady there to tell you about the flavors. My favorite, arroz con leche (a creamy vanilla with a sprinkle of cinnamon - like rice pudding) mango, mango with a chile kick...Go and find your favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beautybea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good - but not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We tried one of the (mango) paletas - it was very good and fresh. They have a lot of flavors to choose from and it varies on the season. Not cheap though - $2.50 a bar.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank spurgeonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious! Really cute logo as well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This spot is a delicious treat. This is not the boring old artificial flavor popsicle treats of my childhood. These are hand crafted, gourmet, delights in popsicle form. Stop in, order, and go. Great treat after lunch or in the evening. Special Arizona spot. I love the one in Chandler. I had the cantelope basil flavor and it was perfect. Thank you Betty! : )

Oh, something funny! The popsicle molds have a bite mark in them so if you don't know you might think someone took a nibble! Lol. They didn't! Enjoy! ; )

The atmosphere I ranked as a three although everything else is a five. The reason is that they don't really have a lot of seating. Why would you want to sit when you could walk around this neat little area?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ikslopot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler,AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect taste of Chandler”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love this little place. It's not ice cream. It's a homemade fruit bar that has the flavors of Mexico/Arizona. Mexican Hot Chocolate (amazing!), mango/chile, lavender, and so many more. Flavors change all of the time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyzChandler_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paletas Betty also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Paletas Betty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing