We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Solid Business Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #360 of 619 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid Business Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Staying at one of the hotels by the mall for a business meeting and didn't feel like one of the chains. Saw the good reviews and a huge Thai fan was not disappointed. The food and service were excellent. I like hot and my colleague likes mild and we were both very satisfied with the spice level. Try the coconut ice cream it was excellent. The local fire department was picking up carry out and there was a steady stream of both carry out and sit down dinners. I will definitely return when staying in Chandler.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoachBryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheerful place with delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Staying in the Chandler area on vacation we spotted this restaurant as we drove past and thought we would give it a try, and we will definitely go back again before we leave! We were taking our food to eat out and the waiter could not have been more helpful. He talked us through the menu and nothing was too much trouble. We ate seafood pad Thai and it was delicious. Thoroughly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1985alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
247 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in Chandler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I love this place. It's fast, fantastically yummy, and affordable. The place is small, probably 1200 sq. ft. dining area. It's decorated with authentic Thai decor. My favorite things are the Thai curries, they are all good. For those new to Thai food there's things like Pad Thai and friend rice. Also if you are not a spice/heat fan, ask for a 1 on their 1-5 scale. The Thai chilies are very hot, so you could always add more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
“Tiny Place, Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a tiny little place. However the food is amazing and very flavorful. Brings out the thai flavors with very high consistency. The service is great and quick. I recommend the red and peanut curry, pad thai, thai basil, spicy noodles. The tomyum soup is amazing too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayanthmurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food in Chandler AZ - Yea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just discovered this gem yesterday and, being new to the area, we are thrilled to find great Thai food!!

They were already pretty busy at 11:30, and the property is not very big so it felt slightly cramped – but the food and service made up for it! All of the 20 or so lunch specials are $6.95 (with beef or prawns costing $2 more), and includes a cup of tasty soup (that I think arrived before we sat down), a flaky spring roll and a slice of orange.

The better half had the Thai Fried Rice (Khao-Pad) with egg, mixed vegetables, onions, and garlic – it was really, really good! My Spicy Noodles (pan-fried rice noodles, bean sprouts, bell pepper, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, onions, and Thai basil) was excellent and perfectly spiced @ level #3.

Service was super-efficient, and friendly.

We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DazedNAmused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing