We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otaku

Otaku
Ranked #121 of 635 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Otaku: obsessed, hardcore fan, cult fan, fanboy or nerd. Originating in Japan from a polite second-person pronoun meaning "your home." Otaku in the U.S. is used much like the term geek. We have brought this obsession to South Chandler. Enjoy traditional Asian cuisine, artfully prepared. Fresh maki (rolls), sushi, sashimi, noodle dishes and omakase are just the beginning of this incredible dining experience.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were very hopeful for a nice chic looking Sushi place so close to home. Obviously we should have checked Tripadvisor first. We started with the Pork Gyosa, which were deep friend and not pan fried. They were crispy and a little difficult to eat that way. For our entree's we dined on all Maki rolls as we're wont to do when we go for Sushi. They did accomodate our request for soy paper wrapped rolls, and had a decent selection. Unfortunately everything we ordered was very bland including some of their special rolls, and the taste from roll to roll really ran together. The service was average at best. We'll be driving to Ahwatukee and dining at Ra or Sakana for our Sushi fix from now on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnNJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New management and chef not any good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Repeat returning customer sad to find on Sunday night that the chef and food as well as pricing has changed with no warning. The "old" Sunday night pricing as well as the Happy Hour pricing were acceptable for the quality food received. BUT, they are under new management and that is gone....long story short is I will not be returning. I give them 6 months before the returning customers NO LONGER return and they hang the OUT OF BUSINESS sign. Bye bye Otaku. You screwed up.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, az.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant since it opened, and it seems to stay very consistant with good food and service. They have a nice happy hour and the bar seems to fill up fast. Last night we sat at the sushi bar and it was such a nice time chatting with Travis and Paul the sushi chefs. The sushi is so fresh and the orders come quickly.
I would suggest this for a date night, family night, or business outing because it has a nice atmosphere and a lovely patio to enjoy your drinks and dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susieqaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food, average sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've tried Otaku four times now. The first was when they first opened and the sushi was very, very good. I just tried them again - twice for lunch and once for dinner - over the past month. The sushi was barely average and I was really, really disappointed. The rolls were small, the shrimp tempura featured in some of the rolls was bland and chewy, and the rolls just didn't taste that great.

The Chinese food offerings, on the other hand, were very good. The fried rice dishes, orange chicken, sweet and sour chicken, and salt-and-pepper pork chops are absolutely delicious. The portions are very good, too.

Bottom line: good service, great Chinese food, average sushi. Plan accordingly!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Average food, bad service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We just had a mediocre lunch here. What made it bad was mostly the service. Not sure if they were understaffed but it really wasn't that busy. It started out bad when we had to wait about 5 to 10 minutes just to be seated for lunch. There was nobody in front of us, nobody behind us, and nobody to even acknowledge our existence.

When someone finally said that he would be right there to seat us we thought he would finish up what he was doing and come seat us. Wrong, he proceeded to clear more tables and more tables before someone else had to come seat us. To me, that is not a good idea to keep customers waiting when you could do that after we sat down. It wasn't like they were busy or needed the tables. Just bad prioritizing.

The wait for our food was terribly long. The food was mediocre. We also had to wait quite awhile for our check. We hardly saw our waiter during our meal.

I think this place needs to work on customer service more before they continue to lose customers. I'm willing to give the place another try just in case it was a bad day and hope things are different.

The restaurant does look nice and has some potential.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otaku also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Otaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing