We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi and service”
Review of Otaku

Otaku
Ranked #87 of 665 Restaurants in Chandler
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Otaku: obsessed, hardcore fan, cult fan, fanboy or nerd. Originating in Japan from a polite second-person pronoun meaning "your home." Otaku in the U.S. is used much like the term geek. We have brought this obsession to South Chandler. Enjoy traditional Asian cuisine, artfully prepared. Fresh maki (rolls), sushi, sashimi, noodle dishes and omakase are just the beginning of this incredible dining experience.
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sushi and service”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Excellent sushi--esp the one wrapped in white (what is that called??). Manager helped me maximize use of my Groupon. Experience was top notch. Lovely decor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeliRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attractive friendly delicious restaurant!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Otaku is a modern yet cozy looking restaurant with nice high ceilings and a very airy feeling to it. I have been here twice and the staff is top notch and quite friendly. I never feel rushed and they are happy to answer all questions. The food is delicious and very fresh and is presented very attractively. They have a large variety of choices to fit anyones' taste. I and my companions had Miso soup and some very delicate lightly fried calamari for appetizers. Our entrees were a Spicy Tuna roll, a Spicy Salmon roll along with ahi tuna sashimi and shrimp sushi, all very reasonably priced. This place is a delight and highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelermike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Sushi”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Beaautiful restaurant! Excellent happy hours choices. Quaint outside seating with beautiful glass windows. Patio Heaters, suggestions by wait staff were spot on! Seemed like an oasis in the desert. Unexpected pleasure! A must do again very soon!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank liv2trvl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“we really like it here!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

first thing is the really friendly staff! we only go for happy hour and it is in our area so we have been a bunch of times-great lychee martini!! and a really good menu for happy hour we have tried everything on there-a really beautiful space!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ileen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sushi in the Chandler Suburbs”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have become regulars at Otaku in Chandler, AZ. Right off the 202 freeway at Gilbert Road, right near the Chandler Airport. In an area starving for great non-chain restaurants, this is superb in every way! The food is amazing and the sushi fresh (I do not eat raw fish, but really enjoy the Mardi Gras roll wrapped in rice paper with lobster and fresh veggies. My husband recommends the Cardinal roll if you are a fan of tuna), but at times (usually dinner) the service can be a bit slow, yet friendly and well-meaning. The decor is nice and the chairs/booths comfortable. It strikes the right balance of family friendly, yet upscale. Lunch specials are well priced ($8 for a quick lunch -- a spicy tuna or cal roll with soup, egg roll homemade gyoza), quick and really good. Great full stocked bar. Try the Pineapple Mojito -- I am not a big drinker, but it doesn't disappoint. Fabulous!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wordsmithgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otaku also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Gilbert, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Otaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing