We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Don't arrive late.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Phoenix Chandler

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Phoenix Chandler
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't arrive late.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

If you plan to stay at the Marriott Courtyard Hotel in Chandler, AZ (Phoenix), don't arrive late in the evening. I booked and prepaid for a two bed room only to be told that there were no such rooms "left" when I checked in at 10:30pm. I was told that it was the hotel's policy to intentionally overbook their rooms. The rooms are then given out on a first come, first served basis. I had to take what was left, and it was not a room with two beds. Let me tell you, that no matter what anyone says, rollaway beds are not comfortable. I do not plan to stay at this hotel ever again and intend to determine in advance if a hotel has a similar policy before I reserve a room.

Helpful?
1 Thank KirstinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
18
13
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2006

Our son was married in Chandler earlier this month and since we live in San Diego - all our friends and family were traveling from out of town for the wedding. I had worked with the regional sales office in Phoenix to negotiate a group rate. Initially they held 10 rooms for us and when those filled, they set aside another 15 and another 15 or so after that. We ended up with 35 rooms reserved for the weekend. My own personal experience was great, but it was wonderful for all our friends and family too. In fact, I did not hear one person say anything negative about the hotel. The staff was great and handed out the gift bags I had prepared to everyone as they checked in. The rooms were immaculate and all are non-smoking. The lobby area is very nice with a plasma screen television and plenty of seating. The pool area is lovely with (again) plenty of seating and chaise lounges. And, the pool area is very nicely landscaped. Some of the hotels I looked at for this event seemed to have the pool in a safety cage with lots of concrete. Even in November the daytime temps were in the 80's, so a little shade around the pool was very welcome. I really can't say enough about the staff at the hotel - always pleasant, always with a smile, no request was a problem. Just fabulous!

The hotel is located in a very nice section of Chandler with easy freeway access. There are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Casa Paloma, a shopping center adjacent to the hotel, has a wonderful restaurant, Tomaso's. Great service and wonderul up-scale Italian food. AJ's is a gourmet food market with a fabulous bakery & deli. There is lots of outdoor seating. Across the parking lot from the hotel is the 5 & Diner, a great 50's style diner with good food & big portions. I recommend breakfast...yummy.

I know we will be in Chandler several times a year to visit and I will always stay at the Marriott Courtyard!

  • Liked — location, ambiance & value
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the surrounding shopping and restaurants
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RoseW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

This hotel's staff was great. We had twenty rooms and another team (parents and kids) had another twenty rooms. The hotel was still quiet! Well thought out with a nice courtyard -pool area. Cookies at night, fruit and coffee free most of the day! Free internet, nice rooms, good parking. Best close to a great Diner, stores, and restaurants. If I were to go to Chandler again, I would stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalifSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2005

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a number of times because of the location - good restaurants and shopping nearby. However, on several occassions there were serious problems which the staff either did not address or took forever to take care of. On one occassion the mattress was terribly stained and torn; we were told that the hotel was full and they didn't have any more mattresses. After threatening to call the city health officials, a clean mattress was brought into our room. On another occassion we were put into a smoking room when we specifically requested a non-smoking room. Again, we were told the hotel was full and there was nothing that could be done. After much haggling with the hotel manager, we were switched to another room. The final straw was when I was eaten alive by either bed bugs or fleas! I showed the manager my neck, arms and legs and was told that it couldn't be fleas since they don't allow animals and "maybe I had been bitten before I arrived"! Funny thing is that we don't have animals! We even wrote a letter to Marriott headquarters, but never received a response. Needless to say, we no longer stay at ANY Marriott hotels.

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank funsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

This hotel is not situated in the Phoenix centre, but it is easy to find a 20-30 minutes drive from the airport and highways to all directions just a minute away.

Shopping malls and many restaurants are also nearby, so the location is top.

Rooms are great, with good airconditioning (very much needed in this area), free Internet access. Wireless Internet access is also available but can be a bit flaky sometimes. It does work however laying by the pool. A very convenient place to do some work!

Breakfast is not great, my tip is to go to the breakfast/lunch/diner in 5N'Dine, which is situated on the parking lot. The service there is great with good value for money.

Hotel staff is efficient but very friendly and more than happy to help to get your stay more comfortable.

If I ever go back to Phoenix, I will surely consider this hotel, both for business and pleasure stay. As always in these cities, be sure to hire a car during your stay, Phoenix is a very large area.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralfvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2005

My stay at this hotel was wonderful. My wife and I were in town for a friends wedding. The Courtyard by Marriott Chandler was easy to find, clean, comfortable, and convenient to many food options and shopping. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2004

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are clean and it is close to restaurants and stores. I travel to Chandler often and always stay at this Courtyard.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
5.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Chandler Fashion Center
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Chandler
Comfort Inn Chandler
#7 of 31 in Chandler
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Chandler
1.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Phoenix Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Phoenix Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Phoenix Chandler

Property: Courtyard Phoenix Chandler
Address: 920 N 54th St, Chandler, AZ 85226-1515
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Phoenix Chandler 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Chandler Hotel is conveniently located off I-10 near Chandler Fashion Center Mall, Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park and just 15 minutes from Phoenix Airport. As a guest of our Chandler hotel, you'll enjoy a state-of-the-art lobby with flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24-hour business center and easy access to the latest news, weather & airport conditions via the GoBoard(R). Grab a bite at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R), which provides guests with a variety of breakfast offerings, including Starbucks(R) beverages in the morning and dinner service with cocktails. Take a break from your travels at our Chandler, Arizona hotel and relax beside our outdoor pool, soak in the whirlpool or get a brisk workout in at our 24-hour fitness center. Our Chandler, Arizona hotel near Chandler Fashion Center offers convenient amenities, stylishly-appointed accommodations, flexible event space & a convenient location nearby the area's best dining and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Phoenix Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phoenix / Chandler Hotel Chandler
Courtyard Chandler
Chandler Marriott
Chandler Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing