We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This isn't my living room, what...”
Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Ranked #82 of 664 Restaurants in Chandler
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This isn't my living room, what...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went to The Living Room for my birthday with a small group of friends. It was a really nice time. The atmosphere was very casual, but not too casual where you would feel out of place if you dressed up slightly. The food was great, and different. Not so different, where you wouldn't recognize what you were eating. We had the soft pretzel, so yummy and warm. Recommend adding the cheese and not using the mustards it comes with. (a bit abrasive) We also had the pizza, and prime rib sliders. All were great! The live music was a mix on a Saturday night, which was fine beings that the crowd was also nicely mixed. Younger, older, people of all backgrounds, etc. The ONLY thing I would change about the Living Room is that the wait staff wore regular clothes like the customers, so it was hard at times to differentiate who worked there and who were actually just dinning there like us. Otherwise, we will definitely be returning to the Living Room. Excited they opened a location in the North Valley, slightly closer than the South Chandler location. We will have to check that one soon as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharondashariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visited The Living Room as a Mother's Day treat. Although the weather was the typical for Arizona - extraordinarily warm - this laid-back, open-air restaurant felt cool; thanks to fans galore.
The menu was fairly light, not too heavy foods. Music was enjoyable. Our server lacked a gracious personality, a necessity for the job; plus we felt pushed to leave immediately following dessert with continual questions: Need anything else? Need more water? The cheese to my salad, part of the entree's title, was missing. Busy or not, server should have noticed. So, the employees left a lot to be desired. Other than that, a decent place and would give it a second chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RamTam75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“This Place Is Hopping”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We showed up for drinks and appetizers and by the time we sat down, this place became packed real fast and was hopping! Busy with the beautiful people. Great open concept layout, the service was personal and harried. The table and couches type layout works well for this type of place. When the DJ came on, this place got even busier. Appetizers were the norm and nothing to write home about.

Not the right place to carry a conversation or for amorous adventures. Just too load and busy, but nonetheless a great place to meet friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazinetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere for Appetizers”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Flew in for a weekend with friends that just moved to Chandler from San Francisco. We were a party of 5 and found their website promising. The menu was limited to mostly bar appetizers, soups and salads. (bread based appetizers bruschetta, flat bread pizza, soups, sandwiches). It seems to be popular with a younger crowd. The bruschetta was served on what seamed to be sliced loaf bread. The brie apple, and fig topping was good. The cheese board was pretty basic but fit with the skeem. The best things on the menu are the salads. Ahi Tuna salad, Apple, Jicama and Arugula salad, and the Chopped salad. Our server was friendly and helpful, but slow. Hearing the Harley's pulling up during our meal was obvious, but not a big distraction. Although I probably won't ask that we come back when I return to visit my friends, there are not too many other options in the area. For a quick appetizer in a relaxed setting (on the couches/benches) it has it's appeal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stopped for lunch in here as had heard good things about it. Decor is nice but thats were it ends. Seats were uncomfortable and service was poor. The chicken soup was not great(had more carrots in it than chicken) and the salad consisted of lettuce with 2 cherry tomatoes in it. My wife said the brushetta was nice but the portion was small. Over priced and would not be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKeating100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing