We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“This Place Is Hopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Living Room

The Living Room
Ranked #192 of 619 Restaurants in Chandler
Cuisines: Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This Place Is Hopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We showed up for drinks and appetizers and by the time we sat down, this place became packed real fast and was hopping! Busy with the beautiful people. Great open concept layout, the service was personal and harried. The table and couches type layout works well for this type of place. When the DJ came on, this place got even busier. Appetizers were the norm and nothing to write home about.

Not the right place to carry a conversation or for amorous adventures. Just too load and busy, but nonetheless a great place to meet friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazinetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere for Appetizers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Flew in for a weekend with friends that just moved to Chandler from San Francisco. We were a party of 5 and found their website promising. The menu was limited to mostly bar appetizers, soups and salads. (bread based appetizers bruschetta, flat bread pizza, soups, sandwiches). It seems to be popular with a younger crowd. The bruschetta was served on what seamed to be sliced loaf bread. The brie apple, and fig topping was good. The cheese board was pretty basic but fit with the skeem. The best things on the menu are the salads. Ahi Tuna salad, Apple, Jicama and Arugula salad, and the Chopped salad. Our server was friendly and helpful, but slow. Hearing the Harley's pulling up during our meal was obvious, but not a big distraction. Although I probably won't ask that we come back when I return to visit my friends, there are not too many other options in the area. For a quick appetizer in a relaxed setting (on the couches/benches) it has it's appeal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sibs_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stopped for lunch in here as had heard good things about it. Decor is nice but thats were it ends. Seats were uncomfortable and service was poor. The chicken soup was not great(had more carrots in it than chicken) and the salad consisted of lettuce with 2 cherry tomatoes in it. My wife said the brushetta was nice but the portion was small. Over priced and would not be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MKeating100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food/questionable servers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Let me begin with the great news, the food is fantastic! I've had multiple menu items and have been happy each time; so has everyone else at my table. Happy hour is great time to go.
The setting is comfortable and relaxing. There are board games available to play while you are hanging out. Now for something gross. I was there on Monday and we sat inside since outside seating was packed. It was Happy Hour. We were seated near the bar/server's station where the plates and eating utensils are kept. A man (who I gathered from his interactions with the other employees was in charge) walked over to the server's station, picked up a small stack of plates, held them in one and and with a finger from his left hand rubbed for a good few seconds the crevice behind his ear. Then he used that same hand to pick out the utensils and walked away to a table. Not only was that sickening but he also appeared to be slightly inebriated. Moving passed that... I wish they would serve the fondue in a different contraption. The wind blew out our candle immediately after it was set before us. After relighting, it once again went out. This isn't well thought out since the place is open air. ( Which also means, when someone is smoking out front, you smell it inside. )

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank queenofapology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
195 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always a lively after work option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great upscale afterwork or evening hang. They offer many "skinny" beverages. Food is limited to appetizers but they now two sister restaurants - Sushi Room and Chop within the same shopping center for full-service dining.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jchuran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Room also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Living Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing