We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delusions of grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chandler Southgate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Chandler
Reviewed February 26, 2009

This hotel seems to think very highly of itselt but has a ways to go. The Sleep Number beds are not like those you could buy...they have what feels like a wooden (think 2x4 boards) frame around the mattress, so sitting on the edge of the bed is like perching on a skinny piece of wood. Needless to say, this is not comfy! The beds also tend to readjust themselves throughout the night, so if you set it at one number, you may awaken to something quite different. My least favorite moment at this hotel was on Saturday morning. The hotel has a table set up adjacent to the front desk, upon which is either a coffee urn or a water dispenser, depending on the time of day. On Saturday morning, I went to get a cup of coffee, but the only thing on the table was a stack of cups and some napkins. Thinking the coffee was being prepared, I asked and was told the "waitress in the restaurant would take care of" me. When I asked the waitress for a cup of coffee, she asked me if I wanted to buy one. It seems there is no free coffee in the lobby on weekends. Neither are there any newspapers, although I know this is common at most hotels. I felt the lack of coffee on weekends was very cheap and not too classy. The bathrooms are also rather marginal. There is NO water pressure in the shower (which is plumbed for someone who plays for the NBA) and the tubs have some sort of coating that seems to be peeling off. The hot tub/spa was closed during part of my stay "for the safety of hotel guests". Not sure what that means, but it doesn't sound good. One evening there was a wedding reception taking place and the entire lobby area was commandeered by the wedding guests.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topkatluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannevan, Director of Sales at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2009

It is always disappointing to hear that a guests is unhappy with our hotel, for either service issues or for the layout or details of the property. I am very sorry that the bedding (or rather the bed frame) was uncomfortable for our guest, and in fact we have several standard beds for any guest who finds the Select Comfort Sleep Number Bed unsatisfactory for their needs. Our aim is to satisfy every single guest and we will do anything we possibly can to alleviate any problems we are contacted about.
I truly hope this guest comes back to our hotel at least one more time, and, since on the survey they indicated that they would recommend us to a friend , I believe that there is that possiblity. Our hotel has made tremendous strides in service excellence in the past few months and our comment cards and internal memos also convey that sentiment. I hope we have the opportunity to prove just how much we have improved.
Thank you for your input and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Chandler Southgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 415 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2009

My friends and I enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, clean and the beds were the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. The food was great and so was the service. The hotel is conveniently located near many shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: January 2009
Thank lhmhkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

The best thing about this hotel is that it is right by the freeway. It is also is within walking distance of a Marie Callendar's restaurant. That was nice for us as after a long drive we didn't want to get in the car again. The only way for me to describe this place is creepy. We had a room on the first floor and it felt like I was staying in a basement. There were stains on the carpet and the furniture was ratty looking. One redeeming feature was the good people working there. We enjoyed talking with them and learning more about the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank postalpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Booked my room through hotwire.
Free parking at this hotel.

Reception was great, room was spacious and bathroom was clean & spacious.

I got a room with the sleep number bed...the bed was very comfortable and I would recommend it.

Bathroom was clean and well stocked with the standard. No problem with water pressure/temperature.

Location wise, this place is alright if you drive.

Would surely stay here again.

*No free breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank g0lf_vacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

This hotel was sold as three star where I bought the stay, but it is definitely not. It is a decent two star at best. I thought I was getting a great deal on a nice three star, but definitely was not. The hotel is not terrible, but just is not what is or other sites claim it to be. The hotel was nicely decorated, but it was only on the surface. The bathroom was very small and old. The hotel is non-smoking, but our room had the faint aroma of smoke and there were ashed under the phone. There was a very nice courtyard with a pool, but being December, we couldn't try it out.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank compton49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

This is a typical example of "you get what you pay for". Thought
the price was very reasonable, but it became obvious why.
This property allows pets. One visitor brought 2 dogs and
left them unattended until 1:30AM. Guess what? they barked
all night and the hotel had to clear the floor. Not allowed to
move the dogs as they are considered "property". Spend a
little more and stay at a place that doesn't allow pets if you
want to actually sleep at night. The day staff were VERY pleasant and accomodating, as were the cleaning staff. The night manager may need a refresher course in customer relations (although he was the one dealing with the angry floor over the dogs which could make anyone unpleasant!).

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank famof4cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannevan, Director of Sales at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2009

I want to make a special note that the problem addressed by this reviewer will not happen again; except for service animals, the Radisson Hotel Phoenix Chandler now does not allow pets. Please know that our guests will not be disturbed by any barking or other noises of that type.
We are committed to the finest service possible and our guests are definitely our top priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

Only stayed one night at this hotel but it was pleasent. Staff were very helpful and friendly & room was clean. The hotel has a nice pool area & a few venues to eat at within walking distance.
Not a large selection of viewing on TV and movies are expensive but would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Brizzy_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandler hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Chandler / Phoenix South
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 33 in Chandler
126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Westerrn Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Southgate Hotel

Address: 7475 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-3210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Phoenix - Chandler)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range: $55 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandler Southgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Southgate Hotel sits in the beautiful and growing southeast area of the Valley of the Sun. At our Chandler, AZ hotel, guests enjoy proximity to Phoenix-Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and easy access to Phoenix, Tempe & Mesa. The Chandler Southgate Hotel is also just a short drive from Chandler Fashion Center Mall, Wild Horse Motorsports (Firebird Raceway), Polar Ice Arena, Bob Bondurant School of Driving, Wild Horse Pass Casino and renowned Rawhide Western Town. These venues offer shopping, a multitude of eateries, movies and special events. Business travelers find our Chandler hotel near Intel, Honeywell, Verizon Wireless, Microchip, Freescale and Bank of America, among other widely known businesses in the Chandler area. Historic downtown Chandler is approximately seven miles away, offering eclectic dining, shopping and galleries. Our Phoenix area hotel offers spacious and stylish guest rooms, warm hospitality and an inviting atmosphere with superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Chandler Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix Chandler
Radisson Chandler
Chandler Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing