We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work In Progress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chandler Southgate Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Chandler
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight during a family trip to Las Vegas. The lobby is very warm and welcoming, the property is overall clean and well kept. This property just became a Radisson and seems to be in the process of upgrading. As a result, some things are better than others. The bathrooms, while very clean, are a little dated. Some of the furnishings in my room were a little worn. The Sleep Number bed controls are a little confusing at first, but well worth the effort. This hotel is VERY easy to locate from the interstate and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a clean, comfortable stay in a family friendly chain hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank TravelinMan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 416 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is off of exit with lots in the area to get to. Very populous area. But there is only two restaurants that we saw within walking distance and that was the infamous, "Whataburger" and Denny's. We decided to go to Denny's and surprisingly it was very good. The hotel is your standard Radisson chain. But lobby is a bit smaller than your normal Radisson properties. There is a nice lodging area in lobby with fireplace (that was on) for wine or chatting with friends or family.

The person who checked us in was immediantly available (Jil*). Whether sitting or standing behind desk, we dont care as long as we see someone "steering the ship". The only thing missing was that she was NOT very hospitable. Almost robotic. She was just not inviting at all. She was also a great multi tasker because the employee working with her, whom she had must have been training, while Jil* was checking us in she was telling her employee what work she had already accomplished and what have you....maybe she could have saved that until we left front desk. We went to back of property to get to our room, our keys did not work. I had to walk all the way around building to get key re programmed. The first thing Jil* said was that a cell phone will diactivate the keys. Really???? I was already aware of that. She never apologized for keys. I just went to room and prayed that I had no more encounters with her.

We were given a business class room. Hotel seemed very quiet. The room had a long desk but not enough electrical outets. Complimentary water was offered. Nice touch! Typical Radisson carpeting. The room looked very maintained except for some scuff marks of the furniture. The Sleep Number bed did not work. The bed was also very low but firm. There are no scenic views from the windows. The flatscreen is nice and big. Not the cheap model. IT was close to a 50 inch. The Flatscreen only swivels to the bed not to the desk. Yes, there were white towels in the room. The towels were very heavy and larger than normal. There was a fridge but no microwave in the room. The room air and heat was centrally controlled. No old heaters underneath the window. Shower pressure was mediocre.If in the area again, I would most likely return. Just dont expect any "bells and whistles".

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aspertame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and for the many positive comments regarding the hotel. We always look for ways to improve our guest service and we value your feedback. We use your feedback to train and retrain staff. Please note that we have retraining scheduled with our front desk staff and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location and easy to find. The staff was informative and our stay was excellent. the interior was clean and did not have the plain look of some chains. The quietness of room and hotel was nice.There was other restaurants, shopping & things to do in the area.The convenience of this was very important to me as I was part of a group with diverse needs and desires. This is the place to stay if you are a family or part of a group.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our sleep number beds. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I tried to find this hotel with my GPS at night . After three failed attempts I realized the hotel sign was not lit. The hotel was tucked under the expressway and not visible from the road. There was a bar by the front lobby and several men were smoking indoors. The room had a bathroom light switch that was help together with tape. The bathroom drain was rusted. The room was very dated, badly repaired. The hotel is not in a good area of town and I did not feel safe. This hotel is not Radisson quality by a long shot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjclifflola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

nice area...right off I-10, but not noisy. Sleep Number beds were comfy! staff was courteous and even gave us complimentary breakfast buffet because the TV remote was missing from our room. nice pool area (although we did not use). good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enigma_ConcordNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Either the chain has slipped, or this site doesn't meet the standards I have experienced at other Radisson hotels. I was surprised to see an archaic tube television when I walked into my room. The picture was terrible, as expected. The major complaint is lack of maintenance. The shower head didn't work properly, the tub drain was ringed with rust and the shower fixture loose and caulking pulled away. The staff was friendly, the food from the restaurant decent. There are too many options for a nice room in this area...With current amenities and working facilities. I doubt I will consider staying here again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank ArizonaMountainTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete the survey. Every survey is presented to the executive committee for review. Your comments on the property condition will be presented. We are pleased to hear your experience with the staff and restaurant meal was on track.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I came here for a wedding event and I found the stay to be an excellent experience. The staff were friendly and attended to my needs. The rooms were well maintained - even some courtesy bottles of water (nice touch!)

Negatives I would say would be the gym is nothing more than a small room with a couple of machines and weights. Also the breakfast was ok but nothing to shout about compared to the food in the immediate area.

Overall, it's a very good place to stay with nice access to town (by car) and with friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jedi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had fun at the wedding event here and that we were able to deliver exceptional customer service. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Regards, Sisi Ramos, Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandler hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Chandler / Phoenix South
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Chandler
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Chandler
1.8 mi away
Best Westerrn Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Southgate Hotel

Address: 7475 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-3210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Phoenix - Chandler)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range: $67 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandler Southgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Southgate Hotel sits in the beautiful and growing southeast area of the Valley of the Sun. At our Chandler, AZ hotel, guests enjoy proximity to Phoenix-Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and easy access to Phoenix, Tempe & Mesa. The Chandler Southgate Hotel is also just a short drive from Chandler Fashion Center Mall, Wild Horse Motorsports (Firebird Raceway), Polar Ice Arena, Bob Bondurant School of Driving, Wild Horse Pass Casino and renowned Rawhide Western Town. These venues offer shopping, a multitude of eateries, movies and special events. Business travelers find our Chandler hotel near Intel, Honeywell, Verizon Wireless, Microchip, Freescale and Bank of America, among other widely known businesses in the Chandler area. Historic downtown Chandler is approximately seven miles away, offering eclectic dining, shopping and galleries. Our Phoenix area hotel offers spacious and stylish guest rooms, warm hospitality and an inviting atmosphere with superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Chandler Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix Chandler
Radisson Chandler
Chandler Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing