We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Executive Suite and Salt Water Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chandler Southgate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Chandler
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here Labor Day Weekend 2012, originally booked a Jr. Suite but upgraded to Executive Suite and was so happy I did! Great room with plenty of space at a great price. The salt water pool is easy on the skin, a bit warm for the summer but all in all it was a great relaxer for a day of shopping! We stay here often but this is the first time we stayed in the suite, don't think I'll go back to the smaller rooms...great front desk staff, Kim's always so friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PimaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Chandler Southgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 415 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was staying here for a few days prior to a sales meeting and decided to stay at the Radisson because of their reputation and I got a great rate. The king room was very clean with sleep number bed and lots of room. The view overlooked the pool and faced south which required the light curtains be closed in the afternoon. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet looked very tasty but I did not partake as I was interested in hitting some of my old breakfast haunts. I was a little disappointed that the bar was not open on friday or saturday but was able to find a few substitutes close by so it was not a problem. I was a little disappointed as well that they did not have a yellow pages in the rooms so hunting for restaurants or shopping had to be done online which I do not always enjoy. There is a Circle K at the end of the block which did have one so they lent me theirs. In addition, a Whataburger is within a few steps and open 24 hours so that was a good thing as well. Numerous restaurants across the street and close by as well so if you want to stay close you will not have any problem finding places to eat. I realized at the end of my stay that a refrigerator was available so missed out on that as I would have liked to have some cold water on hand.

All in all, a very comfy and pleasurable stay and do recommend this hotel as it is close to I-10 and minutes to almost everywhere including a great Ikea store.

Room Tip: Ask about a refrigerator especially if you are visiting in the summer....whew it was hot, hot, hot w...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Front Office Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you able to enjoy all the attractions nearby our hotel. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Chandler area for business or pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Booked a room on Hotwire and got the Radisson Hotel Chandler. It was a great value at the Hotwire price. If we would have had to pay the going rate at the hotel website, then it might not have been worth it. The room was clean and large with a King Sleep Number bed. No breakfast included, but there's a Cracker Barrel just up the street.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Front Office Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I recently stayed here before catching an early morning flight (out of Mesa). I only chose to stay so far from the airport because I have come to expect a great hotel room from the Carlson brands. I am currently a gold elite member, and have stayed at quite a few Carlson hotels recently. I was very disappointed with this hotel though.

The greeting at the front desk was far from nice. I should also mention I had to wait at an empty desk for a few minutes before someone actually showed up to check me in. I wasn't even recognized as a member of Club Carlson. Not a huge deal, but it would have been a nice touch. Granted it was getting late, around 9-10pm, but I expected more. The elevator was extremely hot, definitely not inviting after coming out of the Arizona heat. My room had a strange smell to it, possibly smoke. The bathroom was dirty, and it didn't look like the sink was cleaned from the night before. I would have normally asked for a new room based on the smell alone, but I was very tired, and didn't want to spend the few hours I had moving around the hotel when all I wanted was to sleep. The sleep number beds are obnoxiously loud. The only reason this hotel doesn't get 1 star is because I got a pretty good deal on the room.

I definitely will not be staying at this hotel again, and will be somewhat weary of other Raadisson hotels in the future. If you're looking for a hotel in the area, do yourself a favor and just stay at the Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites next door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexb535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Front Office Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello Alex, thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay and have addressed all of the concerns with our team to ensure these types of concerns do not occur again. We do value your membership as a Club Carlson member and would like the opportunity to make this experience right. Please contact me directly at the hotel so that I may discuss with you in further detail.

Thank You,
Sisi Ramos
Front Office Manager
Radisson Hotel Phoenix/Chandler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and had a decent experience. I was upgraded to a junior suite and the FD clerk(s) were really nice and friendly. They acknowledged my Concierge status and gave me a free gift, upgrade, and breakfast. There is ample free parking (various exit doors, so you can park close by) and the property was well-kept. Breakfast was just okay (not worth $12 though) and most people dining there had complimentary vouchers anyway.

The bed was clean but the carpets were worn out and dirty and the tub and walls had a bit of rust. There was a peculiar smell in the bathroom that didn't go away and like other reviews have mentioned, they really need to get rid of those medical office-type trash cans in the restroom. Also, the suite had 2 old CRT TVs-the first time I've seen a CRT TV in a suite in Radisson. Another thing I didn't like was the constant banging of my door by housekeeping in the morning even though I had my "DND" sign on the door.

Overall, it wasn't a bad stay. If I'm in the area again and the rates are competitive compared to other hotels, I might stay here again. I really appreciated them acknowledging my club carlson status and making me feel welcome.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank Travel20144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SisiRChandlerAZ, Front Office Manager at Chandler Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted you felt very welcome here as one of our Club Carlson members. We always want you to know we appreciate your loyalty and your membership is something we hold at the highest regard. I do apologize for the few inconveniences you encountered while here and I have discussed your concerns with our team to ensure a similar situation does not occur. I hope you do choose to stay with us again when your travels lead you back to the area and please don’t hesitate to let me know if you need anything prior or during your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here on the romance package on Monday, June 18th, 2012. We enjoyed a cozy room with king size bed, complimentary bottle of white wine and a $50 food credit to the hotel restaurant.

During this stay housekeeping was atrocious for a Radisson. Our bathtub had rust around the drain, hair from previous guest and carpet was not vaccumed good.

The hot tub was nice but the jets sucked. Didn't even feel like they were on.

The only reason why this Radisson does not get TWO STARS is because their staff was top notch which is what we have come to love and expect from Radisson.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohalltrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Hello and let me first thank you for sharing with us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us as I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our staff and have come to expect thier service! I do apologize for the concerns regarding housekeeping during your visit I have met with our team and can assure you a similar situation will not occur in the future with any guests. Thank you again for your time and please contact me at the hotel directly if there is anything else I can personally assist with.

Sincerely,
Sisi Ramos
Front Office Manager
Radisson Chandler Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I'm moving cross country so I needed a place to stay until I could move into my new place. I made my reservation half an hour before checking in, my room was ready when I arrived, the wonderful woman at the front desk (Tylene) found me a room in a better location and provided a mini fridge for the room. The lobby is nice and welcoming, the room is open with a couch and room to move around between the bed and the desk. The room and bathroom were very clean, and the carpet was not stained or old. The bed was comfy and I loved that they have actual comforters with duvets instead of those gross nylon bedspreads that probably never get washed. Lots of comfy pillows too. The room was very quiet. The free wi-fi worked well, and I used the gym every morning. The pool looked nice, although we didn't use it while we were there. Did not try the cafe or the room service but both looked good. My only complaint is the same as someone else's - add a larger trashcan in the bathroom! Also, the elevator was insanely hot (it was over 100 degrees that week in AZ). Also, the AC could have been a bit stronger.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Hello and Thank you so very much for all your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am delighted your moving experience has been a good one and that Tylene and our staff were able to exceed your expectations. I have shared all your feedback with our staff and we thank you again for your time and look forward to another visit should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Sisi Ramos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandler hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Chandler / Phoenix South
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix Chandler-Fashion Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Chandler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#24 of 33 in Chandler
126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Westerrn Plus Chandler Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandler Southgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandler Southgate Hotel

Address: 7475 W Chandler Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-3210 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Phoenix - Chandler)
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chandler
Price Range: $56 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandler Southgate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandler Southgate Hotel sits in the beautiful and growing southeast area of the Valley of the Sun. At our Chandler, AZ hotel, guests enjoy proximity to Phoenix-Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX) and easy access to Phoenix, Tempe & Mesa. The Chandler Southgate Hotel is also just a short drive from Chandler Fashion Center Mall, Wild Horse Motorsports (Firebird Raceway), Polar Ice Arena, Bob Bondurant School of Driving, Wild Horse Pass Casino and renowned Rawhide Western Town. These venues offer shopping, a multitude of eateries, movies and special events. Business travelers find our Chandler hotel near Intel, Honeywell, Verizon Wireless, Microchip, Freescale and Bank of America, among other widely known businesses in the Chandler area. Historic downtown Chandler is approximately seven miles away, offering eclectic dining, shopping and galleries. Our Phoenix area hotel offers spacious and stylish guest rooms, warm hospitality and an inviting atmosphere with superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Chandler Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Phoenix Chandler
Radisson Chandler
Chandler Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing