We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mediterranean food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spices Mediterranean Kitchen - CLOSED

Spices Mediterranean Kitchen
Description: This owner operated restaurant serves excellent food in a casual atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: This owner operated restaurant serves excellent food in a casual atmosphere.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wonderful food with good choices. A nice place for lunch or dinner, no wonder it is always crowded at lunch time. Their Chicken Schwerma is perfect and salads are perfect in size and taste. Love the hot spiced addition to the dishes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JDinAvonCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean casual dining.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Spices has great food. I have never had anything bad here. Recommend the cheese crisp made on filo dough! The only bad thing about this place is that it has a tenancy to be a little noisy if there are too many people, but you can always get their delicious food to go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and great service recovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We just moved to the East Valley and went in search of Mediterranean cuisine this weekend. Spices was written up in one of the local magazines so we decided to try it. The menu is rather limited and the location is somewhat sparse but the food did not disapoint. I had the Gyros plate which came with a generous portion of meat, rice and salad. Everything tasted great. My husband ordered the Shawrama ( something he had never tried before) . My food came out promptly ( they give you a number and bring meal to the table) but his was delayed so the staff gave us a complimentary order of the best humus I have ever eaten. The delay was handled well so an A for service recovery. He enjoyed his meal and loved the fries If you like Mediterranean food fast that tastes good make sure to visit Spices in Chandler!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magwheels00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I ordered the schwarma. It was small, not tasty. I was so disappointed.
The manager spent his time smoozing customers.
Tables were dirty. Yet this place was full of customers. I can only think that
people just don't know what good Mediterraean Food is. Or I guess that people
like to be smoozed.
I won't be back. EVER!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvhockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CRAPY PLACE...CRAPY FOOD...AVOID THIS PLACE AT ANY COST”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I am sorry guys but this place sucks! The food is horrible. This place is to mediterranean food what Taco Bell is to Mexican food. The rice looks like and taste like rice from a box. The salad if we can call that a salad came with no lettuce, no onions, just chopped cucumber and some tomato pieces, pitiful. the meat was little for the price.
Honestly, if you are looking for good food make yourself a favor and pass this place. And the manager had an attitude like if he were the king of the world...and he is just a manager of a crapy, greasy, cheap food place

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Uzi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spices Mediterranean Kitchen also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing