We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service”
Review of Don Shula's

Don Shula's
Ranked #52 of 658 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Located at the Wild Horse Pass casino
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
208 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Ginny Alejandro and Skyler were the best! Has prime rib with the crabmeat Mac and cheese was not disappointed . French onion soup was also good. Expensive but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    17
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wayyyy OVER PRICED”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went to the Wildhorse Casino in Chadler Arizona to see a concert. Went into Shulas at 6:30 and told the server that we had to be done before 8:00pm. Well of course we received out steaks at 7:50. Our steaks were not cooked to correct temp and had no time to wait for new steak but the bad part was, I was way over cooked. I asked for Medium rare and it was dry and well done. Not good when the steak cost 46.00 alone! Service was good and wine was good but I will never spend that kind of money on a piece of leather!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McCoolpurpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of only two restaurants in Phoenix I trust”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Let me start out by saying that I'm lucky enough to be able to eat at Shulas almost every week, most of the reviews you will read on here start out with "I went for my birthday" or "we went for a special occasion" - so these are strictly one timers, and to gain a good perspective on a restaurant you need to go several times, or for me about 50 times so far. Obviously I like the place a lot, and while it isn't up to the standards of somewhere like Andres in Las Vegas, it still has a lot to offer. So let me offer a few tips. Firstly, always get a booth, they are private and spacious, the tables on the other hand are cramped, the 2 seat tables almost ridiculously so. Now the food. Appetizers - never get the mozzarella salad, it's absolutely revolting, the lettuce wedge is good, and the single jumbo lump crabcake is amazing (they do an entree with 2 if you want more). Now entrees - the steaks are good, not amazing - just good, I prefer the filets and the Steak Mary Ann (2 small filets with a peppercorn sauce), their prime rib is also pretty good, I have not tried any of the huge slabs they offer, 48oz is just too much. As for sides their mushrooms are excellent, but the absolute best (and their signature side) is the crab mac and cheese. Now I don't like mac and cheese, it's kid's food right, but this is so very different, thin little pasta swirls with a home made cheese gratin bake and topped with lumps of white crab meat - it's truly delicious.

So try it, combine it with some gambling, then hit Aria nightclub, and get a room in the hotel. it's a good night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Just average"”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My expectations were high when I ate at Shula's for the first time recently. Our meal ran 200.00 for two appetizers, two entrees, one desert and 4 drinks. I thought it was too much money for the food we had. My appetizer was a crab cake, and it was probably the only item that was great. My wife had some wierd salad for her appetizer, and she liked it. My entree was a 12 oz fillet. It was prepared medium well so it had to be cooked for a while. The outside came out dry and a bit tough. I was not offered the option to butterfly it, although they just forgot to mention it to me...My wife had an 8 oz fillet with some crab sauce type topping. Her 8 oz steak cost as much as my 12 oz steak because of the sauce, but there was far to little sauce to justify the higher price. The sides (all a la carte) simply were just average. I had lobster mashed potato's that did not have much flavor. Grilled onions that were ok. And sauteed mushrooms that I felt were cut to thin and did not have much flavor. They were quite generous on the side portion sizes, which redeemed the average flavor. The chocolate cake we had for desert was once again, average.
I loved the ambiance, but the servers were just average on this night. They were to slow to respond to our requests. I cut them some slack on the slow service because the restaurant was full, and they were busy....I love Don Shula and hope his chain of restaurants will continue to prosper, but to me they were just average.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pricey, but fantastic”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Always expect a high price but fantastic meal here! Don's team knows how to do it right. Remember that the sides are large enough to share.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sink-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Shula's also viewed

 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Don Shula's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing