We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful hotel, albeit smoky” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Chandler
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, albeit smoky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We found a great deal for this hotel on Living Social - a non-weekend rate of $59. It was a steal for this beautiful hotel. The room was beautiful, the bed a comfortable memory foam with a ton of pillows, and a clean bathroom made it a great stay. We had great views of the desert and pool from the fourth floor as well, and had just a nice relaxing stay. My only complaint is that for being a non smoking hotel, the smell of smoke is overwhelming. The minute you step into the hotel, even up the halls to your room (no matter what floor), and permeating even into your room is a strong smell of smoke. Plus, we went to enjoy the pool and relax, but there were a lot of smokers lounging in the pool area which cut our visit short. Disappointing that they would allow smoking in the pool area. Other than that, this hotel was definitely worth the stay, especially at that low price!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to enjoy the great desert views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audhep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorsePass, Manager at Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we're glad you took advantage of the Living Social deal! While the hotel is smoke-free, smoking is allowed in the pool and casino areas. We have an advanced air filtration system and strive to keep the air fresh throughout the property, and we do get some very positive comments about the clean air in the hotel. Even with these systems in place, we are always updating our filter system and your feedback helps support that. We hope you'll visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    146
    76
    37
    30
See reviews for
97
182
55
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Hubby and I just spent 3 perfect nights here and loved every minute of it. Soothing, peaceful and healing are the feelings we had at this resort. Walk the 2.5 mile path in the desert and learn from the signs along the way about the Native American culture. Highly recommend eating at Kai Restaurant. Very expensive, very classy, and the most creative cuisine I've ever experienced. Within 10 minutes of returning to our room, a note from our server was slipped under our door, telling us what a pleasure it was to serve us. Thanks to Bryant for providing excellent poolside service to us! The one slightly negative experience we had was at their main restaurant. We always had to wait for someone to appear at the hostess desk to help us. Other than that, this resort is 15 min. from Sky Harbor Airport, but is on the Indian Reservation, so you feel like you're a million miles from everywhere. This is a Spa Resort, so combine that feeling with the Native American influence and you have one VERY SPECIAL place! Will definitely stay here on our next AZ vacation!!! Oh...almost forgot...the brand new Outlet Mall just opened a couple miles away. It's upscale, so enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista AZ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

the location was the most convenient for our trip. We had tickets to shows Friday and Saturday nights at the Ovations Showroom, so staying at the Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino was our best bet. This was our second stay here - for same reason - to see a show.

We were in room 205, a double with a balcony. We had to wait to check in as our room was not ready when we arrived. The view was of the pool area was pleasant enough. The balcony area was nice but there were no cushions on the already low-slung patio chairs. We didn't realize they should have cushions until we saw identical chairs the second day on a public balcony on the second floor located near the hotel lobby. Those chairs had cushions, but the chairs were still very low to the ground - difficult for someone like me with bad knees to get down and up again.

Our room was very small. Beds are comfortable enough, but again I dislike the way they are made with a flat sheet on the bottom. There was also some kind of thick rubbery-feeling mattress pad on my bed. This was not comfortable, and made for extra warm sleeping and noisy movements. Adjusting the A/C to cool the room did not seem to work. We never got the temp to go below 73 even when adjusting the thermostat to 69.

The cleanliness of the room was a bit lax. There were a few crumbs on the desk area, plenty of dusty spots, and the corners of the bathroom floors were not as clean as they could be.

We had very noisy neighbors our second night (not the hotel's fault, but still annoying). They slammed doors over and over (just entering and exiting the entry door), and at least 4 of them came out on the balcony next to ours. They didn't know we were sitting quietly out on ours around 11 PM when they came out, talking in loud voices and drinking. As they could not see us, they continued to carry on conversations in loud voices, and kidded about violating the no-smoking policy of the rooms and the balconies, and flushing cigarette butts down the toilet to get rid of the evidence.

And as far as the smell of cigarettes, it is very strong in the hotel hallways, and leaks into the rooms even though the entire hotel wing is supposed to be smoke-free. Wish there was some way that could be prevented as it makes for some very stale air.

I think the prices for the accommodations are high for what you get, but I guess they are the going rates for the area. Our only reason for staying at this hotel is because of the shows in the showroom. If we come to more shows in the future, we may check out other hotels in the area and then just drive over to WHP.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neeliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorsePass, Manager at Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your repeated patronage and are glad you enjoy the shows at Ovations. The cleanliness and maintenance issues you mentioned are unacceptable and we are redoubling efforts to ensure these issues are not repeated. Even though you mentioned your noisy neighbors are not the hotel's fault, if management is alerted, we can easily encourage noisy guests to use the public areas of the hotel and casino, which are open 24 hours, until they are ready to quiet down so other guests can get a good night's sleep. We hope all of our guests will let us know if they have problems with neighbors. We will be contacting you personally and do hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Northern Arizona for a weekend get away. The best room rate came to about $180 for a Thursday night using an AAA discount. The standard king room was very small and had a view of the freeway, but the room was clean.
We were very disappointed with the room for this price. We ate dinner at the Chinese restaurant- Ling & Louie's- DON"T GO THERE! The service was extremely slow, the food horrible- no flavor and poor presentation, the plates and silverware dirty and really bad choices on the menu. We were so sorry we ate here.
The casino was smoky and crowded and not as nice as we had hoped. We will not stay here again. Slots are very tight and table games had no open seats.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

For people who have a young family----it's simple--GO TO HARRAHS AK CHIN it's right down the state highway ( I think it's 375?? or something like it---300 something--but it's 30 minues away) it has a better pool--by far--it's got a great--really great entertainment center that is smoke free and very kid and young person friendly---with some fine places to eat simple--but very good food-----there's even small rooms for kids birthday parties it's not close to the big maalls--but is down the road from wal mart----- the rooms? in the new tower? are so small--you have to step out side to change your mind--and they smeel like smoke----BUT! The older two story section is far better--especially for families-- I HAVE BEEN TO BOTH HOTELS Both actual casinos are both average at best and both are very smokey ak chin has a 10 plex modern multi plex cinema, and a 20 lane modern bowling alley surrounded by large screen telivisions with all sports of sports,soccer, baseball, basketball--all at the same time---it has an excellant sound system with great music...it also has billiards and darts and air hocky and table soccer--it also has ice cream and coffee shops and an outdoor eatery with a simple waterfall---in comparrison---WILD HORSE has a few smokey bars with some good adult enterainment--wildhorse pool is as good as any small town community pool---it"s next to the parking lot--ak chin"s pool is far far better-- WILD HORSE HAS A SHUTTLE TO TWO OTHER LOCAL CASINOS

Room Tip: ROOMS AWAY FROM THE PARKING LOT HAVE GREAT VIEWS get the food at the cafe 21 and just bring it to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Even though it was a Thurday night the place was quite busy. There still was plenty of machines play and I liked the food court for a bit to eat. I was a little disappointed that there weren't more adult beverage servers coming around like Vegas does. The room we stayed was nice and looked recently updated. The one problem was there wasn't anywhere to plug in the coffee maker except on the floor and no place for two people to sit and eat breakfast. Only one person could sit at the desk however the breakfast was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaKelly-S177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our trip to Cancun was canceled due to flight delays and the inability to get connections on time,so we left the airport in Mesa around 1:30am very bummed. On the way back to Tucson we decided to make the best out of a crummy situation and find a room. We stopped at Wild Horse and they said the room price was over $200/night,but if I got a players card it would be about $120. So I get a players card and STEPHANIE KNOX who was working the front desk heard my story and she said " I cand get you a rate of $50/night because of the time,and if you want to stay another night I will give you the same rate." Stephanie made our situation a whole lot better and was very happy to help us. Kudos to you STEPHANIE KNOX!

Room Tip: lose the waterproof matress cover! Makes for a disruptful and sweaty sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler
18.9 mi away
Talking Stick Resort
Talking Stick Resort
#35 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix Chandler Fashion Center
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Chandler / Phoenix South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix / Chandler
18.4 mi away
Harrah's Ak-Chin Casino Resort
10.8 mi away
Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino
Vee Quiva Hotel & Casino
#63 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino

Property: Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino
Address: 5040 W Wildhorse Pass Blvd, Chandler, AZ 85226-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Chandler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Chandler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Horse Pass Hotel And Casino
Wild Horse Pass Hotel Chandler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing