We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mmmm Mmmm Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 619 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Seafood, Fusion, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N 54th Street
Transit: Bus stop at Ray Road & 54th Street
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mmmm Mmmm Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Weve been fortunate enough to have eaten at several Roy's restaurants all around the globe and this one lived up to the great reputation for food, atmosphere and service that all the Roy's are centered around. Like all Roy's restaurants the food is so good you'll really want to lick the plate when finished! Excellent food complimented by great service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1BeerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    40
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just a great meal, great staff, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Having heard great thnigs fromsome scolleagues who had visited Roy's on the Tuesady, I visited the next day: Wednesday. And then the day after, Thursday. I travelled home the next day, meaning I couldn't visit again.

I sat at the bar, and the staff on both visits were welcoming, helpful, knowledgeable and efficient: I couldn't fault them. The food was good - no, excellent. The main decision to make was whether to have the local specialities or choose from the Roy's chain menu. I did both, and enjoyed it all. My absolute favourite was the Himalyan sea salted steak: brilliant.

I enjoyed the food so much that I asked to speak to the Chef, "Red", who came out and was also charming.

A great restaurant: I'll look out for other ones when I'm next in the US.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have eaten at the original Roy's in Hawaii Kai years ago, and eat there when in Hawaii. The Roys in Chandler has a nice happy hour with Sliders and pot stickers and several other offerings. If you are looking for a nice special dinner this is an excellent place to celebrate a birthday, new Years or any other occasion. The service is always good and the selection and food is quite good, don't forget to end the meal with their famous lava desert.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Global-Deep-Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We go to Roy's a couple of times per year, usually for special occasions. I have never had a bad meal, or bad service. Some were better than others, but all have been above average. We have tried the happy hour a couple of times as well, and it's a good bang for the buck with the happy hour prices. The Sliders and Short Rib Tacos are yummy!

I am not much of a fan of high priced dinning most of the time, but Roy's is one of the very few places that I believe is worth the money. The Quality of the food and the service is worth every penny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Did not live up to its high ratings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Food was mediocre and just okay. Nice atmosphere and setting. Food too salty and service slowish for quiet evening! Fish did not impress and not to taste quality in Hawaii.

Helpful?
Thank trustthisreview88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing