We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Foodie magnet - great for business or special occasions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's

Roy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 610 Restaurants in Chandler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free Options, Seafood, Fusion, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: N 54th Street
Transit: Bus stop at Ray Road & 54th Street
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Foodie magnet - great for business or special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Roy's is a special treat, with a wide range of interesting twists on seafood and land fare. The service was truly exceptional and made the evening very memorable. As a first-time visitor, I felt like I knew the staff like old friends, which made it a relaxed and fun atmosphere.

Appetizer highlights include the lobster pot stickers. And do not miss the dessert menu, which is stuffed with great options (some need 20 minute lead times!)

Yes, it's priced above the competition, but you absolutely get what you pay for, and if you ask me, this quality of food and experience is worth the small premium.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DragonChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    40
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
174 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It was a special treat to be here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The atmosphere was fabulous and the food was unusual and tasty. The food presentation was beautiful! We had a coupon so it helped with our expensive food. This is a place that you go for special occasions, and a coupon helps!
Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen110551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service combined with a succulent menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My girlfriends & I often go to Roys on the weekends for their great happy hour. We always enjoy great service, delicious drinks & yummy appetizers; but until Wednesday I had never enjoyed the pleasure of dinner at Roys. My husband travels frequently for work, so when he was unexpectedly home on a Wednesday, we decided to enjoy a romantic dinner at my favorite place. We did not think to make reservations, but upon arrival we were greated with a friendly smile, & we chose to sit on the cute little patio for dinner. First, the dinner menu offers an exciting array of seafood. My selection was the Swordfish & my husband opted for the Butterfish. Simply amazing! Both were fresh, delicious & flavorful. Second, our waitress Kelani delivered outstanding service, with much kindness & warmth. She demonstrated great attention to detail & also was able to make excellent wine pairing selections for our dinner. Her knowledge of the menu was impressive! We ended our evening with a yummy Pineapple Upside down cake, & were pleasantly surprised with a little extra dessert at the end to celebrate our rare-romantic date. She really went above & beyond to make our evening special! We were impressed by the manager stopping at our table to check on us. This just shows how much Roys values their guests. I know my girlfriends & I will be back soon for happy hour. But Roys will be the number one choice for my husband & I when we finally get to enjoy a date night again! We both look forward to the same warmth, service & menu again soon. Props to Roys for making our evening above & beyond.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunChaserz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday at Roy's Hawaiian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Celebrated our son's birthday at Roy's, first time there, and had a wonderful time. Service was spot on, very friendly and I would definitely want the same waitress again. All three of us loved our drinks, the two appetizzers we tried and our meals. I got the Barramundi and it was one of the best fish dinners I have had in quite awhile. It was a little spicy (from the rice?), moist and flavorful. Knowing it to be a birthday, our waitress took a picture of us and printed it out right there! Of course, a small treat at the end for the birthday boy.
Definitely on the high end of my dining price range, but I was happy with our choice and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pandarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Mahalo for bringing such a wonderful restaurant to the desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I spent his birthday in January at Roy's and enjoyed so much we came back for Easter bunch. We were greeted both times with smiles and a great atmosphere, Roy's is absolutely beautiful with amazing food and sevice like no other. I highly recomommend when looking for an all around perfect experience you choose Roy's, and don't for the chocolate souffle because it is the perfect way to end your night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing