We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rawhide Western Town & Event Center

Rawhide Western Town & Event Center
Ranked #3 of 40 things to do in Chandler
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The whole family will enjoy this recreated 1880s Old West town that includes a haunted hotel, trampoline bunjee jumping, a mechanical bull plus staged gun fight shows.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I love this place we take all our out of town visitors to it .The food is great, they have good entertainment while you eat, and a cut little "western town" with things to see and do, and a few shops

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    171
    114
    44
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old West”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want to catch a touristy version of Old West flabor, Rawhide is worth the visit, especially if you have kids. You'll feel like you're walking down Main street of an Old West town. There are the usual gunfight show, a petting zoo, mini-train riade, etc.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank casagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Rawhide on a whim as it looked entertaining in the brochure. It was quite disappointing. A street with a few shops with not much in them. One of the burros giving kid's rides looked near death - it walked so slow and with it's head hanging nearly to the ground. The lady leading the burros had to drag it along and I reallly felt sorry for the poor animal. It was constantly being dragged along with kids on it's back for the entire hour and a half we were there. We finished looking in all the buildings and had lunch at the outside counter (not in the restaurant) and it was terrible and expensive. By the time the "show" was ready to start we'd had enough of Rawhide and left without taking in "shoot out". There were one or two other activities for kids - panning for gold and climbing a small rock wall - but other than that, really nothing to do once you'd looked in the stores.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“LAME. Except for the Restaurant.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fond memories of visiting Rawhide as a child made this destination a definite when I was showing my husband around the beautiful state of AZ; however, this had to be the biggest disappointment of our trip. I don't know all the changes that happened when they moved from their old location, but there was hardly anything to do - it literally looked like a ghost town. The shops were disappointing, the attractions were actually embarassing & it just wasn't even a very lively or fun atmosphere. I will say the only redeeming quality about the trip was the restaurant. We had dinner there and the food was great (you've gotta try the rattle snake), the music was so enjoyable (not too loud) & my hubby and I even enjoyed a quick dance while waiting for our food. I really hope that something is done to make some changes because Rawhide used to be a super fun place to bring your family and now it's pretty darn lame.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, KS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Rawhide and had a blast! We ate at the restaurant and everyone enjoyed their meal. The live music was nice and my children ages 5 & 6 danced in front of the stage. We bought the combo pass and did all of the children's activities and saw the gun show. We even rode the mechanical bull. It was cold outside but they had campfires throughout the place to stand in front of and warm up. A great time was had by all!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank spanielmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rawhide Western Town & Event Center also viewed

Chandler, Central Arizona
Chandler, Central Arizona
 
Chandler, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rawhide Western Town & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing