We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location, Extremely Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cave Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cave Creek
Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location, Extremely Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I booked a Casita for the week of April 14- 21, 2012. We were very comfortable there. Hiking, Biking and horseback riding trails are all within a short walk. Since we were downtown Cave Creek. All of the restaurants, taverns and the Buffalo Chip were also within a short walk. We were able to use this facility to plan an overnight at the Grand Canyon West. We walked the famous Skywalk and spent a night with the Hualapai. I have read the negative reviews here and feel that if you are looking for a resort or a hotel on the level of a Hyatt, this is not it. Nor is it intended to be. You see the owners everyday and they are very courtious and want to do anything for you. This is a down-home good place to stay and convenient to everything while being far enough from Pheonix to be comfortable. Rustic, old-world charm. I hope it stays that way.

Room Tip: If you are planning a stay with more than One person, book a Casita. Well worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizonastyle, General Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and a great time in Cave Creek. You are welcome back anytime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    7
    15
    23
See reviews for
18
33
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I cannot tell you how amazing the staff at the tumbleweed hotel is. When I arrived 3 hours before check in the employee cleaning the rooms asked me my name and then immediately left the room she was currently cleaning to clean ours so we could get into the room early! When I checked in they mentioned if I needed a late check out it was no problem and even offered to call a shuttle for me to take to the wedding I was in town for. I will never go anywhere else if I am near the tumbleweed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and cool, in the middle of the AZ heat. You can get a decent comfortable bed anywhere though, the service was what made this hotel memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizonastyle, General Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
We are pleased you had a good stay and will continue to provide the best customer service we can! Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the Cavecreek Tumbleweed hotel for 25 years, This was another great time. We stayed in the newly remodeled Casitas and were very pleased. The living room and kitchen were spacious and the King sized bed was confortable. We enjoyed the patio with a fire pit as well. The new staff was very acccomodating and readily available. We as always enjoyed our stay and will be back this fall and again next spring.

Room Tip: If staying a few days I would recomend a romm with Microwwave & Frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Very overpriced for mediocre rooms. Service is basically non existent. We needed to call several times daily for cleAn towels and toilet paper. No in room coffee makers. Lobby hours were very inconviant.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank risingDTranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Staying here for two nights. First night planned and second not. Great location and friendly staff, yet some key points missing here. The first night was alright room is okay for price but lacking ammenities for it. Poor quality soap/shampoo not enough for the price. Only a half roll of T.P. for two people and 24 hours, maybe but it would be nice to have some spare squares. Second day, no coffe/tea services and with weather very severe in Flagstaff I had to stay another night. Same rate for a Monday however with only one person? I had to ask for additional T.P. and get it myself. No housekeeping as I was told and for extended lengths there is no water. Hot water is still up in the air??? I was offered complimentary bottled water for hand washing and a late check out. What good is this when the toilet needs to be flushed and I want to get out as soon as possible? With no maid service I took the trash out my self and hope that I can at least get a hot shower before tomorrow. Very Disappointed! Will not come back. Oh yeah check-in was friendly and earlier than expected. I've stayed at campsites that offer more.

Room Tip: Basic is basic if you would like a fridge/coffe maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizonastyle, Manager at Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We appreciate your constructive feedback and having taken your time to write a review for our hotel. Unfortunately, that particular evening we were having some plumbing worked on which is the reason the water was not working well in some of our rooms. We did our best to be as accommodating as possible by offering early check in and late check out, for which we normally would have charged. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and now that everything is fixed and working properly can assure this will not occur in the future with any guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine usa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We wanted to get out of the city on our first night, before heading to Sedona. This place is not fancy but you know you are in the West. I loved the S.W. feel of the place and the funky town of Cave Creek. Don't stay here if you need the feel of a resort or chain hotel to be comfortable. Do stay here if you want to feel like you are in Arizona.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csfMaineusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This place is a dump when I saw my room I asked for my money back,
Manager said " you already paid your not getting you money back"
The room hasn't been up dated since the 70s the shower is either stained or dirty. The bed spread had cigarette burns in it. The bed had no mattress pad. The pillows were so worn they were flat.
They call this a western motif. $479 for 4 nights for a room I didn't stay in.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave Creek
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Phoenix North - Scottsdale
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 2 in Cave Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel

Property: Cave Creek Tumbleweed Hotel
Address: 6333 E Cave Creek Rd, Cave Creek, AZ 85331-8709
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Cave Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cave Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Cave Creek, The Tumbleweed Hotel is the only hotel that puts you within walking distance to all the local attractions. Surrounding the hotel are hiking trails that have been voted the best in the Valley, horseback riding, quad and bike rentals, amateur bull riding competitions, cowboy bars, biker bars, coffee shops, thrift shops, great restaurants, golf courses and many great Southwestern shops! We offer 16 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with telephones, direct TV and wireless internet access. The spacious outdoor pool, patio/picnic area and barbeque are also available for guest use. The Tumbleweed Hotel was established in 1968 by local Cave Creekers who wanted to continue the tradition of Cave Creek's small town hospitality. The Tumbleweed Hotel is Cave Creek's only main street hotel and continues to be part of the fabric of the town by maintaining it's Western decor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing