We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fish Fry”

Buffalo Chip Saloon
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Fish Fry”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'm from NJ and usually head out to AZ once a year to visit family. I've been to Buffalo Chips before, it's a very fun restaurant. Inside they give you peanuts and you toss the shells on the floor (I never got to do that as a kid, so it was pretty fun as an adult). This was my second time at the restaurant. I was there with my sister, friend and aunt and we had a great time. We all got the fish fry (4 types of fried fish and a side)... it was DELICIOUS and all you can eat!
Although the food was good, the service needed work. We visited on a Friday night (and a very VERY busy Friday night at that). Our poor waitress had our table and about 3-4 others, and it was her FIRST NIGHT working... not very fare to her. Although service was slow, she was very nice and was always smiling. She also recommended the smores dessert which was a lot of fun.
There was also a bull ride competition that night which would have been fun to see... however we were quite the tired (and FULL) bunch, so we opted to head home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BMT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    121
    44
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Buffalo Chip Saloon and Steakhouse Cave Creek AZ”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A fun place to go and enjoy good food, atmosphere and entertainment. The Buffalo chip has different entertainment to enjoy. Dance lessons, Bull Roping to name just a few. Their website has the list of things going on each night of the week. The food was excellent...had the pulled pork sandwich and was delicious...portion sizes are more than on can eat. A laid back atmosphere and very fun place. Would recommend this to all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for the outdoor barbecue around campfires. The food is good and seating is at picnic tables. I think it was fish fry night inside. At 8 pm the bull riding started. For those of us from the midwest, this was a treat. After the bull riding there was "mutton busting" with the kids riding sheep. It was fun to watch. This place is definitely for a casual evening out as there is nothing elegant about it but It is entertaining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cowgirls dream.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Lots of atmosphere. Good music on weekends. This is an entertaining and friendly place. The biggest drawback is their weak and watery drinks. Have a beer and at least you will know what you are getting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saverylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Expected better.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Last day of vacation on Friday March 1. We had heard several people mention this place as a must do, so we decided to give it a try for an early dinner. We were greeted by a very nice waitress who showed us around and noted that this was their Friday night fish fry. Unfortunately it smelled fishy, which was not too inviting. Also either the wood chips on the floor or the age of the building added another I appealing odor. We decided to sit at the bar and have an appetizer and a drink. The bar tender obviously knew the locals at the bar and didn't really pay much attention to us. The appetizer wasn't bad, but nothing to brag about. Prices were reasonable overall.
I can't really say that the place was bad; it just didn't appeal to us as much as Greasewood Flat does.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSENo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Chip Saloon also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Buffalo Chip Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing