We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OLD WORLD ELEGANCE!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Sans Souci Restaurant

Le Sans Souci Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Sans Souci Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 76 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
373 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“OLD WORLD ELEGANCE!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

A little jewel in Cave Creek! The Greater Scottsdale area is not known for fine dining and few would appreciate the tableside preparation but this place offers a gracious dining experience for those who do appreciate it. Most of the clientel were seniors, well dressed and mannered. This is not a place for kids. The service was old world excellence and the owner was actively involved. A good and reasonably priced wine list and the pour was generous. We shared the hot spinach and bacon salad and frog legs as an appetizer - both excellent. For a main course I had the veal oscar, Angela had the duck and our friends shared a lage and magnificent rack of lamb for two. All perfectly done. A perfectly prepared Grand Marnier souffle topped off the meal. The only negatives was the tired decor and the bath rooms need attention. Two Gardner stars.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Like being in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This little unpretentious restaurant is a gem in the rough. Wonderful french food, table side cooking (which is hard to find these days), something for everyone on the menu for those who do not like french cooking.

The staff is very helpful and the original owner, Louis Germain, is back taking the reins. If you have been here before you need to go back and if you want to have a nice quiet dinner this is the place.

My husband and I go to Le San Souci every time we are in AZ. About 4 to 6 times a year. Hopefully we will be moving there soon and can enjoy Le Sans Souci more often.

The only suggestion I have is to request a side other than rice. It is a little pricey but worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aturtle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Like being in the French countryside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

San Souci has been in Cave Creek area for many years. It is superb traditional French food. Louie, the elderly owner, continues to be present each day, and brings the true French spirit to the place. There are many patrons over the age of 65 which is just fine but it is sad younger people do not try this wonderful spot. If anyone has the desire to visit what is an authentic French experience, do not miss San Souci. And, the ambience is also authentic French countryside dining. Wonderful!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank devilinthedetails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Perfect French atmosphere, all French food and the best. Very warm and professional service provided to customers. Positive energy throughout the restaurant!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
191 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently had brunch here. We heard from several people the restaurant was very good. All four of us ordered off the brunch menu. Two of us ordered the dover sole. The serve advised they were out of the fish. So, we quickly selected other items. Our waiter had an off-putting sense of humor and was somewhat absent which was interesting as the restaurant was far from full. The bus boy/server was far more attentive and personable. We were much surprised to hear our waiter recommending the sole to patrons who came in a good 30-45 minutes after we had been seated. We were confounded by this. The dessert cart consisted of 5 items. I go the last piece of carrot cake! No one even acknowledged us as we got up to leave. The decor leaves much to be desired - while it is clean it desperately needs updating. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sans Souci Restaurant also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Le Sans Souci Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing