We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Mexican Paradise”

El Encanto Mexican Patio Cafe
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Mexican Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away behind a wall in Cave Creek is a little Mexican paradise complete with a large duck pond in the open air patio. We went over Memorial Day weekend. Our waitress was friendly and prompt. Margaritas just hit the spot with the 3 kinds of salsa and crispy chips. I had the small portion of the grilled fish tacos and along with the rice was more than enough to fill me up. The fish was fresh and moist. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    276
    96
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been regular, happy customers of El Encanto for over 6 years. However, sometimes things change and you just have to be honest with yourself and others. The restaurant's quality has nose-dived since our last visit. Specifically, it seems that they have decided/needed to chlorinate their water or have stopped using an effective carbon filter. Avoiding the drinking water is easy, less easy is avoiding the fact that the chips, food and salsa tastes like chlorine. If that's your thing, this is your restaurant, otherwise try somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald85262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little Mexican Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were asked to join some friends for lunch over Memorial Day weekend and El Encanto was the destination. We haven't been there in about a year. We were seTed on the patio near the pond. Our waitress was prompt polite and knowledgable. We enjoyed the 3 types of salsa with warm chips while drinking our margaritas which were very tasty. I had the grilled fish taco, small portion. The fish was fresh and very good accompanied by rice. It was almost more than I could eat. We were all pleased. We will go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhondatank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food in an authentic atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food very much. I ordered the small portion and am glad I did. The flavors were sumptuous

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Have eaten here a few times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I enjoy the pond & atmosphere, feels like you are in a park setting. Food is good, some different items on the menu. Have always had a good experience. Have been there for lunches and dinners. Better to go in the daytime cause you get the full atmosphere of the pond, ducks and turtles. Good place to take out of town company.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BettBax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Encanto Mexican Patio Cafe also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to El Encanto Mexican Patio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing