We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave Creek Tap Haus

Cave Creek Tap Haus
Ranked #54 of 76 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Cave Creek
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“People place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Geat time when we stop by owners always friendly fantastic food! I understand that there will be football games shown here for the Chicago Bears tailgate parties braut worst I can't wait I'm a big fan it was nothing but a great time for all the locals

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mckenziecastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been to this restaurant a couple of times for just a drink and appetizers, which were good. Great beer selection. But this last time, we thought we would go there for dinner. They had a different menu for dinner from the last time we were there. I have to say, we were disappointed. The food was "just okay". Then the band started playing and we couldn't hear anything! Nice place, average food, customer service was okay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cjv48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloy
Level Contributor
175 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great sports bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very nice sports bar...really large and well layed out also. We did not eat but had a drink and listened to the band for awhile....good staff too

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank duffer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Work in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our first experience was average, French Onion soup was made with a commercially purchased stock and on par with or slightly better than the frozen individual servings from Costco. Beer is what they are all about and they gave a very good craft selection along with the harder to find Crispin Cider.
Second experience was a bit better and enjoyed the burgers and beer. Beer is served in more of a European manner whereas it is not so cold that it dulls the favors, which is not what cowboy's may prefer.
Third meal was on Fathers Day and was once again just average. Unfortunately they had entertainment that was a lovely singer with a unique style and voice who was left unsupported by a horrific sound board and acoustics. This made our special day out with dad barely tolerable and the costly tab left a bad taste because we waited 55 minutes for our food ( steak special for dad, sausage, salad, and a burger) and had to yell across the booth to one another. The best part of the day was that we could share a laugh and wonder if this place is destined to go the way of all previous occupants. It takes more than flat screen tv's these days to attract diners. Perhaps they need to decide to go completely bohemian or completely sports bar, the in between atmosphere is a bit strange.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2fromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Tap Haus is a relatively new restaurant in Cave Creek. As locals, we like to frequent restaurants in our area and are always looking for place that you want to return to on a regular basis. Unfortunately, this isn’t it. We had been a few times and were relatively happy with the restaurant’s casual menu and the fact that it had several beers on tap. Thinking it would be the ideal place for the July 3rd fireworks extravaganza, we made reservations for a group of friends 3 weeks in advance, requesting a table on the patio that would give us a view. This appeared to be no problem and our reservations was made with Rick, who I believe is one of the managers. We confirmed our reservation twice beforehand and were assured that all was taken care of. When we arrived on July 3rd, about 10 minutes ahead of our reservations time, we checked in and were told there were no patio tables available. We actually spoke with the manager, who acknowledged that he had taken our reservations, and were told that people without reservations came earlier and that he couldn’t ask them to leave even though they had finished their meals. Our question was what was the point of having reservations? Most restaurants, knowing that they have reservations for a particular table or area, will seat someone at said table if it’s available earlier but will explain to the customers that they will only be able to keep the table until the time that it’s been reserved for. We were offered a table indoors, which totally defeated our reason for being there. After approximately 15 minutes of going back and forth regarding our reservations, we were told we could have an outdoor table that would give us no view of the fireworks what so ever. They had set up some old folding tables on their concrete pad in front of the restaurant and we were told we could sit there but the only food you could get there was a hot dog, hamburger, bratwurst, or knockwurst with a bag of potato chips. Mind you, this is a restaurant, with a new chef, that is presenting a new “gourmet” German food menu … again disappointing as this originally was supposed to have been more of a brew pub. At this point, we decided to cut our losses, take the table on the concrete pad where we could at least enjoy the fireworks, and get a sandwich (which you also had to get yourself at the kitchen). When we ordered, the choices were down to two items. We all dined on lukewarm brats and cold buns. Not to mention that they only had 1 small bag of potato chips left. Never once did the manager come out to check on us, apologize. To say the “customer service” was bad would be foolish … it just simply didn’t exist. Unless the owners work with their managers on such issues, this restaurant doesn’t have a chance. We certainly won’t return and neither will any of our guests.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Creek Tap Haus also viewed

 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cave Creek Tap Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing