We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite hole in the wall breakfast places!”
Review of Indian Village

Indian Village
Ranked #18 of 78 Restaurants in Cave Creek
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favorite hole in the wall breakfast places!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We are locals to the area and love going to the Indian Village for a great weekend breakfast! It is one of our family favorites. If you like unusual hole-in-the-wall - great food type of places - this is for you! Don't miss it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Tempting Tacos!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cute little place that has a tiny menu and a great big taste. Prices are low, quality's high. Outdoor seating area in back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sjgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
365 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Crazy little place. Great Mexican food.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Funny little place with tshirts and souvenirs in front, small eating area in back. We gave our order to Bart the owner, at the register. Our food came out on paper plates at the kitchen window. Cheap great Mexican tacos, enchiladas and guacamole. All homemade. You can't get any more casual. Great for lunch! You gotta try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best downhome Mexican you will find”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

It doesn't get any better than this. Simple and authentic homemade Mexican food. Spinach enchilada is the best ever and what I really like is that each time we go the item we order is always just a little bit different, just like at home, but always outstanding. And the prices are great too. You can't beat Indian Village!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jokepoacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Black Bart has discontinued robbing stagecoaches, roughing up the cityfolks and is now serving great enchiladass”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Originally in the trading post format, that had all merchandise behind a u-shaped counter and a metal stove in the center of the open floor space for locals to swap stories and escape the heat, Barts Indian Village is a must stop and eat lunch or buy something for the kids before you go home destination.
My kids and now Gran-kids ,all ask to stop buy, browse around and eat lunch and buy a little something, EVERY TIME WE DRIVE BY!
Bart has clothing, great sweat shirts, hoodies and T shirts with the "Cave Creek" emblem and landscape scene on it that we all have at least one of. He stocks some Indian Jewelry,blankets, pottery, rain sticks and other Indian crafts that make me feel at home. Eastern Visitors need to understand the historical significance of the trading post a century or more ago, right there in the same spot. Settlers and ranchers would come in and buy 20 lbs. of salt, salt pork, ristras of chiles(both fresh and dried) coffee and other essentials in the traditional "Bull Ring" store with all the merchandise behind the counter. Indian craftsmen and women would bring in baskets, rugs and jewelry to trade for provisions or raw wool to make more rugs.
Burt is trying to keep some of that history alive in the merchandise he offers. Just like the Old Trading Posts of the last century, he serves food of that era too.
Indian fried bread...its cheating, I know. Its like an incredible Doughnut like fresh bread wrap filled with the best mexican food fillings you can ask for, Tacos, enchiladas...its all great!
During some development in Pinnacle Peak 20 years ago, caches of Indian yucca sandals, Blue and gold Parrot feathers bound with wax seals as if for a form of currency, Irish flat shells inlaid with the red and black corals from the Sea of Cortez and Jar upon Jar of red and white beans were found nearby in caves that had gone undisturbed for up to 1400 years.
This was deemed the larder of the Anasazi Indians who lived here before us and then Vanished in the Global Warming event around that time.Those beans incredibly sprouted when exposed to moisture and dark and then light after lying in a time capsule for over a thousand years. AMAZING, HUH?
Go to Bart's and ask him for a bag of Anasazi beans...he sells them! When you get home and are so inclined to include pintos or white beans with your meal, eat a little ancient history instead, they're great! they are bright fire engine red and white spotted like a pinto horse is mottled.you will love them, we do.
GO TO BART'S INDIAN VILLAGE , OPEN YOUR EYES AND PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR SURROUNDINGS...DONT MISS ANYTHING, THERE'S A LOT TO SEE, FEEL READ ABOUT, ENJOY AND TAKE A LITTLE HISTORY HOME.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Village also viewed

Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
Cave Creek, Central Arizona
 

Been to Indian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing