We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a wonderful weekend!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was a wonderful weekend!!!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2007

After reading some of the reviews we were nervous about going to the resort. We just got back today from a wonderful weekend at the Carefree Resort and Villas, we didn't want to leave. Everyone was nice from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. We went to celebrate our one year anniversary and we had the best time ever, they even had a nice card and bottle of wine waiting for us in our villa the day we arrived. Food was great as well as the drinks. We will be going back.

  • Liked — The deluxe villas were great - has a fully stocked kitchen and two baths!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cnhfromCoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    188
    112
    69
    48
See reviews for
155
206
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2007

The Carefree Resort was the site of our company's two day conference. The service was first rate and the food was delicious. The villas are fantastic and tempt one to want to reside there year round. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiggyPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

After playing 18 holes of golf in the Arizona August monsoon heat and humidity, I found myself suffering from heat stroke. I made it from the parking lot to the outside bell desk before nearly collapsing. The bellmen noticed that I was in trouble and got me inside to the air conditioning. They notified security who immediately called 911 and got the EMS squad to come to do triage on my condition. I was so impressed with the staff at Carefree Resort and the personal attention they gave me. They continued to monitor my recovery and were sincerely concerned. This positive experience has quickly made Carefree Resort one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nimbysst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

During the hot summer months here in Phoenix my family and I always like to take a break (without the hassle of travelling) at one of the local resorts and this year we decided to try the Carefree Resort & Villas where we booked one of the delux villas.
The experience we had was incredible and more than we had expected. The pictures on line don't do it enough justice. The spacious villa was amazing, very comfortable and had everything you needed . Overall the resort property is great and very well taken care of. They have great amenities and they had a lot of things going on at the resort the whole weekend from dive in movies and cowboy shows to late night smores, plus they are able to accommodate any request from a round of golf to a hot air balloon ride. It was also just as easy to relax and do nothing.
I would have liked to have seen a bigger pool area or some kind of water area aimed at children/families, but there is still a nice pool area with an additional pool in the villa areas.
The food was hot and the drinks were cold and we enjoyed riding around on our own golf cart but what left the greatest impression on me was the level and quality of service from all of the employees at the resort. Check in and out was simple, friendly and efficient and throughout our stay all the employees seemed to be happy to be working there and this showed. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone that we came into contact with had a smile on their face and even passing an employee on property they all would smile and say hello.
I am a big believer in people being your greatest asset and I know there are a lot of choices for luxury resorts and places to stay here in Arizona but the Carefree Resort & Villas and it's staff stand out as one of my top choices and a resort I will be recommending to others. Thank you for such a great visit and I look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Az.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My wife surprised me with a special getaway for my birthday! What an unexpected pleasure. Even though living in Scottsdale, the Carefree Resort is just far enough away from the city to get that real western feel and slower pace. We had a very relaxing two days . The villas are exceptional, and the service was excellent. The staff was friendly, and the food and service at the restaurant was also excellent. Their summer prices make it a nice escape for those who live in the Valley. Would do this again !.

  • Liked — The Villas
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SgtLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We have had the opportunity to stay at the Carefree Resorts three times in the past couple of years. We absolutely love the area. The villas are so spacious! They are perfect for families and the fact we can bring our puppy makes this resort our Arizona favorite! We brought our cousin from Italy there so he could see "real" Arizona with all the cactus and critters native to the state. The only "critter" our Italian cousin was not fond of was the Maricopa Sheriff when he pulled him over for speeding :) Still a great trip...would recommend to anyone!!

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — no grass but that is all of arizona!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank staci1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Wow, what a great place to take the family! We are a family of 4, with 2 teenage children. Where do I begin, upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with a very friendly staff, who was helpful with our questions, we then checked into our villa, which was absolutely incredible, we probably could of lived there the whole summer. If you are looking for a great western feel in a hotel, this has it, right from the Saloon where you can dance, eat, and throw peanut shells on the floor, to the amazing scenery outside, as you are sitting over a firepit (s) cooking SMORE'S, then at dusk, we had a real cowboy come down playing his guitar while riding the horse down the trail, then he stopped and everyone gathered around and sang and got to feed the horse and ask questions. There was something for everyone, beautiful views, pool, saloon, we will definatley be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunFamilyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#23 of 174 in Phoenix
777 reviews
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 3 in Cave Creek
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Property: Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Resort And Conference Center
Carefree Hotel Carefree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing