We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night getaway was perfect ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One night getaway was perfect ”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night just to get away. Pool was nice and quiet, the staff was beyond friendly and the resort itself is beautiful (especially at night). They have a free shuttle to take you anywhere and back in cave creek and carefree. Very pleased and will return again. Can't go wrong with this place!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cpetrie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    188
    111
    69
    48
See reviews for
153
201
40
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arranged a couple months in advance to stay just one night after our daughter's wedding nearby. The surroundings are beautiful. The room was spacious and clean, but the rate quoted did not include approximately 12% in taxes and another 7% charge for the resort fee, and this was supposedly a discounted "wedding rate". Parking was free though. I had reserved 4 rooms for ourselves and other family members. We didn't get to the resort until close to midnight to check in our other daughter who was from out of town. They asked her for a credit card at the desk and I questioned them asking her because I had already confirmed it with our credit card, but they said it was for possible incidentals! Upon checking out the next morning I stated to charge 3 of the rooms on our card. When I got home and reviewed the receipts, they were charged to each individual person's card. The accounting department was apologetic and offered to reverse charges for them and recharge our card. No offer was made for further discount due to the error. We have had much better customer service at much lower priced hotels/resorts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort that needs to learn service and hospitality.

We reserved a carefree suite that was supposed to be across the street from lobby. Upon check in they gave me a villa about a mile away. They also informed me I could use the resort pool but if I wanted the pool near villa the key fob to pool was $150 if lost. I never wanted to be that far away in the first place.

Second the villa was in poor shape and privately owned. The WIFI did not work. They sent engineering to room but could not find that wifi actually existed. They rent these units for owners. Apparently they don't mind if owners don't maintain units or keep up a standard like the wifi they promised me.

So yhey moved us to the units we were supposed to have which were the carefree suites which were nice. The wifi worked there. Units don't have robes unless you ask. We did. Then the maids took robes daily and did not replace. There are signs in room they care about the environment. We hung robes daily to keep. They should not have been removed if not on floor. They were and they were not replaced daily without a call.

The staff was very nice and more than willing to accommodate any request. To bad they didn't anticipate any in advance like robes in room daily..,,

Also, when they upgraded us to a unit without our knowledge of upgrade....it should have been our option not theirs to move us a Mile away. Plus inexcusable there was no wifi as owner didn't pay bill and it was shut off, property should maintain all services if they are renting for private owners,

In short I thing the grounds were nice...except the operations were not good. Example printers did not work in business center, ATM out of order all 4 days, gym needs serious updating, insufficient electrical outlets to plug in hair dryer in bathroom. Gift shop did not have dental floss. Hell, holiday inn has all toiletries if needed. This gift shop was lame.


It was run like a third tier resort. It shouldn't be. It's a beautiful property and needs to be managed better. I understood that they have had management issues. I hope it gets better as it's a beautiful property with poor mgt.

Edgar at front desk was great once a problem detected.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Richard,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience. I have also shared your comments with our respective team members to address the specific issues you had during your stay. When you have a chance, I would appreciate to connect with you to further discuss.

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My son was getting married at the boulders but no rooms available. We stayed here overnight. It's an older place but it was well maintained and the staff were good. It's a little pricey but it was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello mike m,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm glad you were able to experience our Resort during your son's wedding celebration. Please extend our congratulations to the new couple! We hope you can visit us again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Kate Mendez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is a beautiful resort in a wonderful surrounding area. The rooms are very spacious and the balcony views are gorgeous. The surrounding area is rural desert mountain views, which are very peaceful. We live in Glendale, AZ and like to come here to get away from the city.

Room Tip: We always get the second floor south facing room. Haven't tried the north facing rooms, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOD752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you NOD752 for visiting us. We love the fact that you are able to get away from it all and enjoy a "carefree" vacation from our resort! Hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our reservation was handled by Anna, who was professional, friendly and very helpful.

The resort is in a beautiful peaceful desert setting with great views of the Continental mountains.
The towns of Carefree and Cave Creek are fun and funky and offer golf, dining, great coffee houses, and hiking.
And a short hop down the road and you are in Scottsdale with all it has to offer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynneelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear lynneelle,

I'm glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time during your visit at Carefree Resort! Thank you too for the warm comments about Anna, we're definitely proud of our team members as they take great care of our guests. We hope to see you again on your future visit!

Sincerely,
Kate Mendez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Average resort.....cob webs in the window frames, found 2 cockroaches on the floor. Outdated rooms.....We stayed in the master villa and was not worth the money. Pool was nice, but only allowed to have 2 pool towels and if you do not have them both returned to your room you are charged $50 per towel. If you were to misplace the pool key, you are charged $150.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris N Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K M, Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Chris N Stacy,

I really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. Our staff has acknowledged your concerns and your feedback helps us with our continued efforts to improve in all areas to exceed our guest expectations. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact myself directly at the Carefree Resort & Conference Center.

Thank you for keeping us informed and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kate Mendez, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#11 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 2 in Cave Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Property: Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Hotel Carefree
Carefree Resort And Conference Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing