We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our wedding and hotel stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Our wedding and hotel stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Carefree Resort in January 2013. Overall, we thought everything went great for the weekend. Below I will break down each of the services we used and how we felt about them.

The wedding itself went great. Emily Kix was the Catering Manager, and she was awesome. She is a great person to work with and made the day go smoothly. There were only a few minor things that were missed or forgotten on our wedding day, but oh well.

For our hotel stay, we were there for 6 nights. Overall, as with other stays when we've been here it went great. The hotel rooms themselves could definitely be updated. They are very spacious and the beds are really comfortable, just a little outdated in the rooms. The hotel room lighting is very dark. They need to make the lighting brighter in each room.

The van driver Audrey was great. She is very professional and does a great job to make sure the guests enjoy their ride and their stay at the hotel.

My new husband and I will most definitely be coming back to the resort to relax and enjoy the surrounding restaurants and outdoor activities. Thanks to the Carefree Resort to an overall great experience with our wedding and hotel stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool I think are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineLover1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    175
    96
    60
    47
See reviews for
140
188
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter and I came to this resort to get away, and it was seeming down as the weather was unusual for January in AZ, A lot of rain, immediately after we checked in a lovely lady name Audry, drove us to a local eatery, where we had a good time. Service was over the top; we are going back again because of her. Great Time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MsGoldeelocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Picturesque location. Close proximity to quant western downtown of Carefree. Age of resort gave the common areas a rustic charm, which paired nicely with the southwest feel the resort was trying to capture. I was in an updated room, others I understand were a little rough around the edges. Service lacking, not lack of trying, just poorly trained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked a three night stay and paid in advance before I read the reviews. That was a big mistake.
The reviews that rated this resort terrible outlined the problems. I am rating it poor as we have decided to leave after one night. Our package included valet parking. We could not find the valet when we arrived. At the front desk we found a clerk who was neither friendly nor helpful. We were supposed to have a room with a view. She put us in a first floor room. It would be an understatement to say there was no view. We complained and we were given a second floor room overlooking the pool. So, we did have a view.
Our room was spacious which was nice. The mattress and pillows were not up to standards.
But, the clincher was when we went into the bathroom and discovered a bottle of shampoo that was half full. In all my travels in all my years, I have never checked into a room with shampoo that had apparently already been used. What could be the possible excuse?
Even though we will not use two nights we have paid for, we feel compelled to check out after one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cordpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Upon arrival at the resort, we were greated at the front desk by a professional and friendly young lady. The room was huge, comfortable and clean. The only thing the room lacked was a refrigerator and microwave. The grounds were beautiful and clean. We found the food to be excellent and the staff very courteous and friendly. We are definitely planning another trip to Carefree in the near future and would highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a great get-away weekend we had at Carefree Resort. Felt like we were far away on vacation but not so far that we can't go back often. Highly recommended !! Staff was wonderful, made every interaction a true pleasure....Food is FABULOUS !! Just a great overall experience .... can't wait to go back again and again.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I would not recommend the Carefree Resort & Villas to anyone. There were 5 couples staying at the resort over New Years Eve and each one of us had problems and issues. The front desk is extremely disorganized and just plain rude. We booked the reservation through Bookit and when we arrived they did not give my friend and I the room we booked even though it was clearly stated on our reservations. We went round and round with the Manager. We finally got BookIt involved (they were great) and finally it was resolved. However, it took BookIT four times calling to get them to answer their phone. The Manager and some front desk staff were downright rude. Our members in our group had similar problems in that they could not find their reservations, another party booked through Expedia and the front desk staff said they did not pay even though they had their paperwork. I could go on and on but my advice is to book somewhere else. Never again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Avoid this. I managed lots of people and traveled alot over my career and I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Xpose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 76 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 2 in Cave Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Property: Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Resort And Conference Center
Carefree Hotel Carefree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing