We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Family Holiday was absolutely WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Family Holiday was absolutely WONDERFUL”
Reviewed January 4, 2008

I can say that I am a very picky person and will admit difficult at times...or so my wife says. I don't think I ask for much but certainly do not excuse inferior service or standards.

We came in for Christmas and wanted to try Arizona and visit family. Let me just say that I've never been more impressed with the level of service I received.

I have a bad back and couldn't get my luggage out of the trunk and the valet was helping other guests. We arrived around 7:30 pm and a Manager (Frank) saw what I was tyring to do and immediately offered assistance. I didn't know who he was at first but when we were checking in, he told us his name and was very friendly. He spoke with my wife about the different things she could enjoy...he took his time with all of her questions.

The staff in the restaurant was great and we appreciated the Chef stopping by our table to explain a dessert to us. It was very fancy and I still can't pronounce what it was but I didn't leave any on the plate.

Thanks for the wonderful experience. The Villas were quite special.

Mr. H.Lippa

  • Liked — The top quality of the staff
  • Disliked — we didn't get to stay longer
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HRLippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    188
    112
    69
    48
See reviews for
155
206
41
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2008

WOW! This is the most incredible place! I NEVER wanted to leave! From the most incredible customer service to great accomodations! I will definitely be going back! Thanks to all of the Staff and wonderful people at the Carefree! It was the most incredible stay! The Best Ever!!

  • Liked — The Outstanding Service!
  • Disliked — I Loved everything!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We had family from all over the country stay at the Carefree Resort and Villas for a long overdue reunion. The people and staff are fabulous! The surrounding desert landscape is beautiful and offered a wonderful setting for our 23 family members to reconnect. Food in the restaurants is great and the service is way above what you would expect. We will definitely gather here again!

  • Liked — Scenic location - away from city and hub bub
  • Disliked — No shuttle service from airport
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BoomerRhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We had several of us staying at the same hotel, for a family reunion. It was marvelous. We never had a problem with customer service, they were truly the nicest people we had ever dealt with. We especially enjoyed the Red Horse Saloon that is located in the Hotel. We spent many of our nights there, just gathered having fun. It was nice that the kids were able to be a part of the action, and were allowed in also. I would definitely recommend Carefree to my friends and family, we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alleebratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

If you're looking for a great place to stay outside of the Scottsdale mania, then this is the place. The hotel itself is under renovation so we stayed in a Sonoran villa. What a bargain for $194 a night. It's a huge one bedroom unit with a full kitchen, dining area and living room. The views from the patio are fantastic. It was so quiet we thought we were the only people around for miles. The front desk staff at check-in were very nice and helpful; there's also a bank of computers in the lobby to check email and print boarding passes. The only downside to this place is the food. Not the food itself but where you eat it. If you're not in the main restaurant, your food has to be delivered from the kitchen and, since either the saloon or room service are a bit of hike from the restaurant, the food tends to be tepid to cold by the time it arrives. Don't let that deter you, however. This is a really nice place.

  • Liked — The huge size of the room and its cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SBrantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We stayed here with our 3 children, and had a great time. We were booked into a Villa, which was very large, clean and well appointed (kitchen, sofa, stereo). Had a beautiful view of the mountains and the golf course. The room was right next to a pool, which was great for the kids. The main impression of the staff was that they were extremely friendly, helpful and knowlegable of the area. We rented bikes at the hotel, played tennis, and enjoyed ourselves. The only quibble we had was the poor condition of the matress on the sofabed. My 12 year old son wan not happy! Great value, otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We have a 18 month old who will not sleep in a big bed, she needs a crib. We were going to bring our own porta-crib with us until not one but two different reservations staff at this resort assured me a crib would be waiting for us when we arrived. What a relief, one less thing to pack.. well of course the one thing I counted on was not there in the room when we arrived. It was almost her bedtime, she was tired and cranky and nowhere to sleep. I called the front desk and they said they would bring a crib. We waited 1/2 hour and nothing, we figured we would go out for dinner rather than sit there. We went to the restaurant and ate and on our way out I asked at the front desk if the crib had been brought to our room. The response I got was "there are no cribs available". Can you imagine how frustrating this was. Not at all what I wanted to deal with after a long day of air travel with a cranky toddler. They looked at me as if it was no big deal and there was nothing they could do. They finally did get us a crib from another property but it was way too late to make up for the frustration I experienced. With the cost of the rooms the least they could do is be organized and live up to a promise that was made over the phone by not overbooking their cribs, but it seemed that one hand didn't know what the other was doing. Since I am a stay-at-home Mom we splurged on this room and will be paying for it for months to come. It was very disappointing.
I called housekeeping and requested napkins or paper towels be brought to our room for the kitchen we had. The non-English-speaking staff brought me toilet paper and Kleenex.
We were woken up at 8am by housekeeping so if you don't get up early make sure you get a Do Not Disturb sign although I don't think they read them even if you have it out.
The pool at the villas was nice and the villa itself was very quiet and spacious. The landscaping and the villa buildings were well done. But the extreme negative experience I had is all that really sticks out when I think of this place.

  • Liked — Desert landscaping
  • Disliked — Disorganization and lack of communication of staff
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank livkencol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMThatCares, General Manager at Carefree Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2007
As the General Manager I am very discouraged to read your review. The experiences you described are not indicative of the culture of our company or the way our staff is trained. But, what really bothered me most is that we let you down and didn't afford you the opportunity to enjoy your vacation. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally and perhaps have you back as my guest to enjoy the experiences you should have on your most recent trip. I know it's hard to believe in a world that moves fast with little interaction, but I'd love the opportunity to earn back your trust. And, I am very sorry we let you down! We truly do care!

Kind Regards,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 3 in Cave Creek
92 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort & Conference Center

Property: Carefree Resort & Conference Center
Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree Resort has recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all meeting space, public areas, resort guest rooms, Lariat Restaurant and Lounge and launched the all new Sonoran Suites, a boutique experience within the Resort. Experience authentic Arizona, located amidst high Sonoran Desert natural preserves 1.5 miles north of Scottsdale. The Resort grounds are filled with towering 20' Saguaro, giant Ocotillo, desert wildflowers, and Prickly Pear Cactus. Reserve one of our Villas, if you are looking extra space and want the comforts of home. Equipped with a full kitchen, dining room, and living room and are available with one or two bedrooms. Our friendly staff can arrange popular destination activities such as scooter rentals, bike rentals, golf, desert jeep tours, hot air balloon rides, and other adventures. The Resort features a five treatment room Spa with full spa and hair salon services, five lighted Tennis Courts, two heated swimming pools, and a complete Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carefree Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Resort And Conference Center
Carefree Hotel Carefree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing