We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$175/night for a pet fee, outrageous!”
Review of Carefree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carefree Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel was running a special for $90/night so I called to ask about their pet policy after they said they were pet friendly. To them, pet friendly equates to charging $50/night for their smallest room for a pet up to $175/night for their largest suite for a pet to stay with you in your room. That's on top of the normal room price! Wow, I can respect that hotels charge a pet fee, but the Carefree Resort is no where near nice enough of a hotel to justify charging $175 for a pet fee.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
1  Thank AZtraveler0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 659 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in August when temperatures are in the 11o degree range. The room was uncomfortably hot and wouldn't cool down after hours of running the air conditioner non-stop. We notified the front desk twice and the second time maintanance was sent in only to tell us that there was nothing that he could do and that we were not the first ones to complain about the warm room. The front desk would not move us to another room. We would have left is we hadn't drank a bottle of wine with dinner (which was very good by the way). We felt as though Carefree "Resort" and Conference Center did not care about our comfort and did not earn a return stay from us. With the economy the way it is and with the slow summer tourist season in Arizona we expected to be treated like customers, not like nonpaying guests. Even on checkout we told them of our displeasure (nicely) and nothing was offered-nothing. Don't go.

Room Tip: Eat dinner and go home. Call a cab if you must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Carefree resort for almost a week this past June. It was the second time I had stayed there for a conference. First, the rooms are good sized, and I was "upgraded" to a suite, however, the "upgrade" room was in the condo area that was a good distance away from my conference. A shuttle was provided, but was rather inconvenient. It appears they are in the process of updating the regular resort rooms, as I saw rooms that were recently renovated and once that had not been renovated. Additionally, the common areas are getting a tad old and worn. The staff is not overly helpful either. Overall, not a bad place for a conference but would not stay here for a leisure trip.

Room Tip: Do not accept an "upgrade" to their condo units, stay in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincyParrotthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My company held a conference here for two days, and we stay here about 2 days. And we really love this place and everything!!
______
Emelda @ conference center

Room Tip: You will love this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egriffinfirl029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I like this place but still there are some disadvantages I found. Like, the staffs are unfriendly, but still they accommodate us with their finest facilities so, my husband like them. Really love the rooms. Thanks for this.
_______
<b><a href="http://82mercer.com/index.htm">Rachel @ Conference Center</a></b>

Room Tip: Be friendly with the staffs so they will treat you the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racheljonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

While we were staying there was major construction and renovation at the hotel. A preview of the rooms being renovated really are bringing the hotel up to snuff as a resort. The location is spectacular upnear BLack Mountain and the sunsets are breathtaking. THe added bonus is that you can ask to stay at the Village of Carefree Resort which is a tad more private respite down the street within 50 yards walking distance from the hotel and conference area. The pool there is more sedate and private and you can really talk to new and interesting visitors and residents there, too. The hotel rooms have a very nice configuration of a main living area with bedroom with big dining room and full kitchen and then there is a seprate lock off big bedroom with sittin area dn full bathroom unto itself. It makes for a nice conference company retreat when you want to enjoy it with friends. The resort right now is very reasonable as well as the village. Usually the village condos are nicely furnished with everything you would ever need. The town of Carefree and Cavecrreek are just a nice walk away with too many attractions to list here. Much better th an Scottsdale.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank seri0ustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great place and perfect location for a quick weekend getaway!
We had a wonderful room, very spacious, clean, and great western decor.
Pool is large and clean.
They offer a free shuttle to local restaurants/bars.
The resort has bar and restaurant on-site as well.
We will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#21 of 174 in Phoenix
807 reviews
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rancho Manana Resort
#1 of 3 in Cave Creek
97 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carefree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carefree Resort

Address: 37220 Mule Train Road, Carefree, AZ 85377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range: $133 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carefree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are excited to let you know, the Carefree Resort & Conference Center is under new ownership who will be making capital improvements to the rooms and public spaces over the next few months. The first construction renovation will be in the Cartwright building beginning August 17th until November 3rd 2017. During this period, we expect minimal interruption to the guest experience. We apologize for any inconvenience but want you to know the resort will be fully operational during this period. Just North of Phoenix and Scottsdale, Arizona lies a desert gem, the Carefree Resort & Conference Center. Here you can embrace the Southwestern lifestyle in total relaxation. It’s a place of soothing and simple spaces with uncluttered panoramic views of the Continental Mountains. Play tennis, enjoy the Spa, or simply relax at the pool with a margarita. For couples, families or groups, Carefree Resort & Conference Center is a year-round destination that truly lives up to its name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carefree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carefree Resort And Conference Center
Carefree Hotel Carefree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing