We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting, Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Rolla, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Outstanding Service”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The Boulders is set in pristine setting with 2 superb golf courses. Staff are highly capable and extremely motivated to provide top notch service to the guests. The rooms are luxurious and quiet. Food at restaurant was of very high quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,413
    355
    182
    111
    63
See reviews for
364
1,065
83
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wonderful resort, staff was extremely accommodating. Took lessons from Donald Crawley and had a great experience. Donald was wonderful to work with. He is very knowledgeable and easy to work with. I felt very at ease playing in front of him, he never makes you feel nervous or self conscious. My game will improve dramatically from his instruction. Would love to work with him again, and plan on returning due to his instruction. Great instructor!

Room Tip: The villas are spacious and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Wonderful location to hold a meeting and the food was beyond expectation. Creative meeting snacks, great places to eat on site. Have had meetings at many luxury hotels and this seemed to run very smoothly. A little further away from the action of Scottsville and city, but that may not be all bad. Lots of recreation and a good value. Plenty of variety and good scenery on the grounds. Big enough property that my runs did not cover the entire grounds. Bikes available and the spa classes were free and very enjoyable. People/Residence on property were very nice as well. I would recommend to any group wanting to get away and relax for a while and not have to worry about going off resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

It is the most beautiful lay out of any resort, that we have ever stayed in. The rooms are built mostly two, to a adobe type style dwelling. They fit beautifully with the grand boulders and beautiful landscape. The rooms are what you expect a upscale resort to have. There is a bar area, fireplace, flat screen tv , a comfortable king size bed and each has a patio area. Our only complaint was the shower seemed small and the shower sprayer was awkward. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The sidewalks meander through the resort giving you views of all the boulders and desert wildlife. More adventurous folks can give rock climbing a shot. The little flocks of quail families roam the resort. They are interesting to watch and enjoy. The golf course is beautiful. Any golfer would enjoy it's challenging drives and greens. It's spa is gorgeous and offers a wide variety of treatments. The Boulders is a wonderful place to go to be pampered and relax. It is not inexpensive to stay here. I am glade I have the opportunity to stay here a few days.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BeckyOp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Okay grounds but the common areas are pretty beat up. The central pool area lacks much needed seating during busy hours. Granted we were staying here during high occupancy but towels and empty glasses littered the pool area. Food and service below average.

Condition of our unit was fair. On entry a very musty smell that was better over the course of the four day visit. A couple insects on the carpet which the bellman promptly stepped on and removed on entry as well. Really? Having come from The Ritz property in Tucson this was a huge step down.

Much better places in the Scottsdale area and given the very high rate we were paying the value was not even close. I will pay high rates for great service and well maintained rooms. Did not have either here. Disappointing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BTrun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Btrun78,

On behalf of the entire Boulders Team we extend our sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered during your recent stay. We strive to provide our guests with a relaxing experience and were disappointed to learn we had let you down.

Thank you for your candid and valuable feedback. We are most grateful for your time in bringing these shortcomings to our attention. We will utilize your comments to improve upon the service and experience we provide to our guests going forward.

Once again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and displeasure you encountered.

With our renewed apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Boulders for 2 nights in March. The accommodations and food are great, and the golf is challenging but fun. We would recommend this resort for a couples trip, but we didn't see many families with small children.

Our casita was tastefully furnished, with a luxurious bed and the usual bathroom features of a luxury resort. I could have used a slightly larger shower stall. On the whole, the resort, which seems to attract an older crowd by the look of the dining-room patrons, is quiet and relaxed although on our final night we were awakened by what sounded like a drunken couple arguing outside. Not everyone, I suppose, is equally happy on vacation.

We dined at Palo Verde in the main lodge and at The Grill at the golf course. Of the two, I preferred Palo Verde. The food was better there, but service was fast and efficient at both places. There is another restaurant on the property called The Spotted Donkey, which seems to be popular, perhaps because it's a little more casual and not as pricey. One thing to bear in mind is that it's a fairly long walk from the main building to the Donkey and too long a walk to the golf course, so you'll need to wait for a lift from a shuttle. Staying at a casita near the main building is recommended.

We enjoyed the spa as it features an adults-only pool and hot tub with attentive bar service. Again, it's a bit of walk to get to the spa, but if you want a little peace and quiet, this is a good place to get it.

We played the South course on Friday and they were just finishing up a tournament when we arrived, so it was a bit of a zoo. The staff were polite and helpful, but not overly friendly. I suspect they were a bit harried by trying to accommodate the tournament players as well as
casual golfers like us. The South course was definitely a challenge. I hit more than a few balls into places where you don't want to go looking--where the cholla cactuses rule. The course was in excellent condition and the scenery was amazing. I don't have any really firm memories of the course, other than it obviously features a lot of really big boulders. If we return, I would like to play the North course as well.

If I had to recommend one of The Boulders or The Phoenician, I would probably go for the latter, just because the beautifully kept grounds are a little more colourful and lush than the desert scenery at The Boulders, but it would be hard to choose between the two for accommodations and food. I don't think you could go wrong with either one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gzowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Gzowski,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad you enjoyed all that we have to offer on our 1,300 acre Sonoran Desert locale with our world-class golf, our serene Waldorf Astoria Spa, amazing restaurants, and spacious accommodations. We hope that you and your wife had a memorable experience with us, and we look forward to your next couples getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We made last minute plans to visit family who rented one of the pueblo villas for a weekend. After reading the reviews online we knew just a little about the area. It was our first visit to Scottsdale and a nice break away from the dreary winter weather back home--but we really jetted off on this trip with not much of a plan-- The Boulders is well known and often on many of the top resort lists in travel publications, so we were confident we would enjoy ourselves.

Here is the scoop:
What The Boulders does well:
incomparable vistas, scenery, decent resort quality food. Excellent golf facilities, bell staff is exemplary.
What The Boulders could improve on: Concierge ignored multiple attempts to make contact via email, and was not helpful on site. Decide if they are Kid Friendly or Not. Better food & beverage services in recreation areas (pools specifically). Update older Casitas.

The namesake Boulders are literally captivating, and stunningly beautiful, like stepping into a movie set. Take the short hike near the pool to the crest of the main boulders over looking the property--very nice in early morning. The property is large and in general you park your vehicle and walk from place to place or rely on the Bell staff to pick you up in the myriad of golf cart and shuttles.The resort fee you pay goes directly to the staff for these courtesies and the Bell staff is very helpful in suggestions of local restaurants, etc and they do it with a real smile.
During our brief stay we booked a studio Casita. It was near the Spa and obviously an older part of the property, the casita came with a fireplace, balcony and large bathroom--housed our family of 4 just fine for a weekend--It could have used a little modern update, but overall was quite decent.
We utilized the pools in the main lodge and the golf club area--but since we had children with us, didn't use the Spa pool(under 18 not allowed)--While the Boulders is Kid Friendly so to speak, I would not say they cater to children at all. In fairness maybe we were there in a down time, but other than the pools, the resort is fairly indifferent to children and offers little specifically organized for kids. We had a 10 year old and 17 year old with us. --of course maybe the concierge could have helped, but we gave up in dealing with them.
In general the staff we encountered was friendly, 2 observations of not stellar staff would be a female pool staff on 2 days we were there, was obviously not pleased with her jobs, slamming trays around, and dumping left over drinks in the plants near guest and abruptly dragging furniture around. The pool during this servers shift was not a restful place, and was a source for all the guests at the time to comment on to each other. The other staff member I would give a below grade to is the concierge--when we travel to a resort the caliber of what The Boulder aspires to be, I contact the concierge for suggestions and help--multiple attempts to engage the concierge were ignored--this was a missed opportunity of the resort to possibly book extra services and basically in my book, the concierge just literally didn't do their job.

All in all The Boulders is a lovely setting, a mecca for a golfer (my husband played twice and said the facilities were very nice) and food on the property was above average for resort fare. I think the price for lodging and amenities for the overall area in Scottsdale are very high compared to other destination areas...but if you want a spot away from the partying college students this is a good bet-

Room Tip: Ask for a newer Casita or if you can swing it--the pueblo villas are spectacular and very well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing