We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The place is located in Carefree, AZ which is contiguous to North Scottsdale. The grounds are beautiful and the accomodations very luxurious. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and it was plenty spacious for the 11 people we had staying there (5 adults and 6 kids). Everyone had a great time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Sharif67,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your 26th anniversary with us. We hope you were able to experience all we have to offer from our various dining outlets, championship golf, world-class spa, spacious accommodations, and breathtaking locale in the high Sonoran Desert. We do apologies for any inconvenience you may have ad with the couple’s “Walk the Rock” guided hike. This is a newly-created experience designed to showcase the beauty of our resort before or after a wonderful couples massage. We value your feedback and have included a pre-call to all guests who book this package to explain in greater detail the proper attire, footwear, and fitness level required. We have also detailed some specific “tour” notes regarding the informative portion of the walk to include our local desert plant, flora, and wildlife. Thank you again for your sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you back here at The Boulders again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is a great property with great service, but it's definitely early to bed and early to rise. Rooms are nice, fireplaces a real plus, property is beautiful, but on-site restaurants are average, no good bar on the property, and cabs and uber can't find the place. Highly recommended if you want golf, sunsets, and early bedtime. If you want some nightlife, stay in Scottsdale. Age over/under is about 55 at this place, as in under 55, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Get a separate casita with a view and upgraded bathrooms. Some units have tired bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoosiervinophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This resort is an incredibly beautiful and beautifully run oasis in the Sonoran desert. Every staff member was helpful and professional, especially the bellstaff and Roy in particular. Our 2nd floor casita was spacious but cozy, with comfy leather chairs, and the throw blanket and wood-burning fireplace made it extra special. I didn't want to head to Scottsdale proper or Cave Creek; my husband and I just ate good meals at the spa and lodge, enjoyed the gorgeous views and landscape on the walks back to our room, and took in the quiet and the stars. Wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Tricia F,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our beautiful Sonoran Desert locale. We will share your kind words with our team members, especially the bell men and Roy! We are glad you enjoyed our spacious casitas, our wood-burning fireplace, our world-class spa, and everything we have to offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have spent a lot of time at The Boulders, and the other reviews describe the level of service, cleanliness and beauty accurately. If you like this resort, it's hard to stay anywhere else in the valley. The real wood burning fireplaces and deep soaking tubs in every room kind of "sold" me. Yes, it's a different "feel;" definitely a bit remote, pretty huge; more like a small village, very quiet and peaceful, much more suited to adults than kids.

Some will find it simply "too far away" to have convenient daily access to Phoenix and Scottsdale, if you want or need that. We feel it's the best of both worlds, where you get peace and relaxation at the resort, plus access to the entire rest of metro Phoenix within a short drive. It's perfect for a vacation where your tightest deadline might be a dinner reservation down in the valley. Just avoid coming and going from Phoenix/Scottsdale at morning and evening rush hours.

There are several restaurants on the property, but we dine almost exclusively away from the resort. We have tried the spa restaurant, golf club grill, and one other. All were ok, not bad, not great. The staff in every part of the property however, is absolutely wonderful, restaurants included. Some of the employees have worked here since the resort opened, with many others having 10...15...20 years in. Randy tends the little bar in the main lodge, and is a cool, kind of old-school bartender. We enjoy seeing him on each visit, normally for an evening beverage to walk the grounds with after dark.

The spa is spectacular in its beauty and simplicity, on par with most of the best the country.

The upscale golf facility is like a small city in itself. Two beautiful and challenging courses. Very nice practice facilities. And head golf pro Don is the cherry on top of the whole experience. Just a prince of a guy who still coaches touring pros, but makes golfers of any level feel comfortable and confident from the start. Perhaps the best resort pro in the country based on the guest experience.

Room Tip: It's a fairly large resort with several varieties of rooms. Even within the same room (price) c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakeMichBoatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear LakeMichBoatGuy,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We strive to provide you with our superb facilities, great locale, and most of all great service through our impeccable team members. We will share your kind words with Randy at the “little bar in the main lodge” and the rest of our team members. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The bell staff at the Boulders Resort at Carefree went out of their way to make sure that we were very well taken care of during our stay. They were very attentive to all of our requests. I highly recommend this resort. We called the bell staff several times each day for various types of assistance such as for: delivering firewood and extra coffee to our casita; picking us up in their golf cart and taking us to our rental car and to the Spotted Donkey restaurant for dinner and taking us back to our casita; delivering my dad's scooter to our casita. They are a fantastic group of gentlemen who are willing to go out of their way to make you feel well taken care of. The gate attendants/security guards are very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Vernon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a wonderful relaxing time at The Boulders. The bed was so comfortable that when we returned home I ordered the exact same mattress. The room was amazing with the fireplace and large bathroom and closet. My husband and I had an amazing time and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Boulders Waldorf Astoria is a five star hotel. The amenities were fabulous along with golf courses. The golf professional staff were so very helpful and so nice! We all felt at home there. I hope to take another group there in the near future! A dreamy place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Carefree Resort
#2 of 2 in Carefree
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 34631 N Tom Darlington Dr, Carefree, AZ 85262-3721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range: $237 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing