We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here and had great lesson with Donald Crawley, golf pro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
1 review
“Loved staying here and had great lesson with Donald Crawley, golf pro”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had an afternoon tee time. Once I arrived I was compelled to stay the night. What a beautiful location and property.
The bonus was that I made a reservation for the following morning to have my golf swing looked at. Donald Crawley spent 30 minutes with me and was very helpful. He has a clear vision of the golf swing and was able to give me just the right amount of "medicine" and even some techniques and exercises to promote more flexibility in clearing my hips in the swing.
Thanks Donald and the Boulders. I will be back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    362
    185
    112
    66
See reviews for
371
1,081
83
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We went here for our 25th anniversary to relax and play golf. The golf courses were outstanding. The couples massage at the spa was outstanding. Although the heat went out in our casita, they got it fixed and provided extra firewood in the meantime. We were never truly uncomfortable. The room was extremely spacious. We have been to Scottsdale several times and always been reluctant to stay this far out, but glad we did this time. Access to the restaurants and shops in Kierland Commons was only 20 minutes or less away.The landscape with the large boulders everywhere is picturesque. It feels like part of the desert rather than a contrived resort. The recommendations of the concierge took to some great little places for local color and great food. We also liked that on our golf rounds we were paired with local residents who gave us a lot of local history, knowledge and recommendations. It made it much more interesting than playing with other resort guests. We had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Elizabeth201,
Thank you for sharing your experience! We hope you enjoyed celebrating your 25th anniversary playing our world-class golf, relaxing at our Waldorf Astoria Spa, and enjoying all we have to offer. We hope you have created wonderful memories during your stay, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying here for a friends wedding reception. The room was the best I have stayed in. The linen and mattress were top of the line and the wood fireplace set the mood for the end of the night!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a great resort and we loved the casita village and desert rustic feel. We paid extra for a desert view... what we received was a north facing (very private) ground floor patio with boulders around the patio. There was no sun and no view. When we asked to be relocated we were told the resort was full and that there were no comparable casitas available. We saw very few guests while staying so we have no idea how that could have been possible. I think they were too lazy to move us. Our room was a block from the spa and for me that worked well since I was at the spa nearly every day to use the facilities. I was there alone many times so I don't know how they could say they were booked solid. This is a beautiful place to stay... especially if you get what you think you paid for. Overall the staff were great... with the exception of the front desk when I called them twice to inquire about another room. The bathrooms need an update but that fact did not affect my overall rating. If we had a better room and had been moved as requested, it would have received 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed Aug.23rd-Aug 29th 2013 - We are sorry to mention that this year we were a bit disappointed by this 5 star resort:
The windows at the porch side of our casita and the table of the porch were dusty. It seems that the windows had not be cleaned for a longer time.
The sun chair mattresses at the main pool side had scratches and stains of sun lotion and dirt.
Although you offer special blankets for the mattresses it does not look invitingly.
Moreover the water surface of the pool looked greasy from lots of sun lotion. It seemed to us that the pool was cleaned ineffective.
Apart from that the resort's service is excellent, the staff polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Prefer sonoran casita row 200: it is more intimate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dietmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Boulders is a great place, the setting in the dessert, the blend of buildings into the landscape all enhance the experience. The accommodations were first class. Had a two bedroom villa which was very spacious with large kitchen, laundry room, tow baths, large great room and two patios. The spa is terrific with its own pool, workout room and plenty of activities. There are 3-4 restaurants on the property all of which are good. the food is good but they could add just a plain hamburg to one of the menus. We spent a week and it was very relaxing. There are no organized children's activities so this is probably not the best choice for young children. Would be okay for older children as there are the pools, golf , tennis and access to horse back riding.
The staff was great and made this stay one of the most enjoyable we have had.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The property and grounds were immaculate. My wife used the spa and was very satisfied with her facial. The restaurant and food was excellent as well as the service. I would highly recommend the property and would return on our next visit to the Scottsdale area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing