We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a memorable place - beautiful landscape, great golf and a wonderful retreat. We stayed in the south casitas and enjoyed every minute. The property maintains a southwestern feel but the true gem is the boulder formations and trails. Great retreat and decompression type of experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,427
    363
    185
    114
    66
See reviews for
370
1,083
83
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Boulders was definitely a dream vacation! My husband and I loved the golf course. We
enjoyed the wild life roaming around as you play. The spa was first class all the way, from
the service, to the equipment. We also enjoyed a few of the exercise classes that the spa
offered, and found the instructors very knowledgeable. We ate lunch by the pool and the
food was excellent. Our accommodation was top notch, offering a full kitchen, and outdoor
grill. When we did eat at the Boulders restaurant the food and the service were 5 star. The
views from everywhere are the property are breathtaking, I never thought of the desert
as beautiful as it was. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property
for any couple wanting to get away from the hustle of life and relax in a tranquil setting.
Cathy

Room Tip: All rooms on the property would have a beautiful view. If you are golfing you might want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyBonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at The Boulders the end of September. There were 3 couples and we rented a hacienda. It was beautiful! Each couple had their own bedroom and bathroom. The kitchen was well-appointed and the outdoor grill and fireplace were wonderful. We found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating, so I was surprised by some of the other reviews. Since we had a full kitchen, we grilled there and the only meal we ate was at the spa and it was delicious! Speaking of the spa, it is beautiful. The view of the boulders from the pool and entry is breathtaking. The spa attendant and therapists were wonderful. We all had fabulous massages and the hydration facial (wonderful for our dehydrated skin after traveling and the dry desert air.) The spa is so serene; we all loved the water and rock features throughout. The guys enjoyed the golf course; it was in beautiful condition and had nice views. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and the peaceful feeling throughout the spa and the entire property. I definitely recommend the hacienda for a group or family trip! We all can't wait to visit again in the future.

Room Tip: We had one of the newer haciendas. Not near the main road so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I were blown away by the level of service and attention to detail on our first visit and on our last visit we both noticed a big change and NOT for the better?

The service levels ere not as great as they were before and we noticed it upon check-in, at the restaurant as well as the Spa. Different attitude and vibe from staff and just indifferent.

The beauty of the property remains but service Ned's to get back to what it used to be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear M2K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at The Boulders. We are so glad your first visit provided you with wonderful memories and a desire to return to us once more. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment you encountered during last stay. We are most grateful for your valuable and candid feedback, as it allows us to provide additional training and insight to our Team Members.

With our renewed apologies and grateful appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If anyone is thinking about staying here, think no more. This place is amazing! We came here as a guys weekend getaway and let me tell you, the photos of this place do not do it justice. The customer service blew my mind. The golf course was ridiculous (in a good way) and I haven't gotten to the actual place. We got hooked up with a villa, a bedroom for everyone, kitchen with all the tools and a grill to cook outside. If you have been thinking about staying here, just do it, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Carlos I,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are so glad you and your friends enjoyed your "Guys Weekend Getaway"! We hope you all enjoyed everything our Villas have to offer from our luxury amenities, the additional space, the spacious patio with a gas grill, the full-kitchen, and much more. We hope that on your return visit, you and your pals will be able to enjoy our world-class golf.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you're expecting a Waldorf-quality hotel stay at The Boulders... well heck if you're expecting a hotel stay that's on par with what your friends have told you about The Boulders, I'd recommend waiting until they've figured out whatever growing pains they're going through right now. The service is confused, the staff is untrained and overall the food is about as good as Denny's. For real. But, the spa is gorgeous, you'll never find as beautiful a property in Arizona and the rooms are lovely. So, if you're looking for that, I'd say you should go. Just be prepared bear the 30 minute minimum drive required to get to any kind of decent food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Claire M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at The Boulders and for your kind review of our “phenomenal resort”. We strive to provide all who visit with a relaxing and tranquil stay.

We are deeply sorry for the disappointment you encountered with our Restaurant offering and the service provided. We are most grateful you shared your observation and provided us with candid and honest feedback. We will review our entire team and provide additional training to insure we extend only the best experiences to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback and our sincerest apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. Every member of the staff we encountered from check in to check out was friendly, courteous and professional. The room was spotless, comfortable bed, large walk in closet with built in drawers, seperate tub and shower. The grounds are large, beautful and meticulous. The porters drive around in large golf carts, efficiently shuttling guests from place to place. The breakfast, lunch and dinners were delicious and well presented. Try the home made granola. We spent time at the spa pool which offers food/bar service. The waitress, Shea, was attentive and suggested off-site activities in the area. The golf staff is equally attentive and the course is beautiful. Lots of wildlife...we saw a bobcat on the 16th hole! Overall a very enjoyable stay at a very special place.

Room Tip: The rooms have patios or decks. Ask for one not facing the walkway for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing