We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Desert Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
1 review
“Great Desert Hotel Experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Property grounds are clean and fun to explore. The scenery is gorgeous and the service is good. The rooms are generous and comfortable with patios and fireplaces and I would recommend staying at this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    357
    183
    111
    64
See reviews for
364
1,069
83
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had two nights here not long enough! Just got a taste for this wonderful place. The staff here are so friendly and helpful right from the guy on the front gate when we arrived late at 11.00 pm to the cart driver who picked us up from our delightful casita at 6.00 am. It was hot so we took advantage of the 4 at 4 deal to play 4 holes late after 4.00 pm and got a feel for the wonderful course we shall return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My company had a retreat at The Boulders Resort awhile back and I couldn't have been happier with the accomodations. The group coordinator, I believe her name is Audra?, was a pleasure to work with. Couldn't have asked for a better place to do a business retreat. The bell staff was great and always around when you needed a ride to our meetings or even some ice in our room. Tyler and Christina at the front desk were very helpful with showing us exactly where our meetings and events were. I will be returning to this amazing desert hideaway with the rest of my family.

Room Tip: The rooms are little huts. I had an upstairs room with a balcony and it was great. I recommend getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My daughter works a the resort. And she recomended it. best hotel experience my wife and i have ever had. Even though it was 115 on day during our stay the room seemed exceptionally cool. The food in the resturant was great. i had a meat loaf wraped in bacon. The perfect meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of hotels in my time, all over the world, and I'd put this place in my top 3 (along with the Marriott in Singapore and Serendipity Beach Resort on Koh Lipe, if you're interested).

What sets it apart, and this is true of all hotels that are worthy of high praise, is the staff. When all is said and done, the facilities in most high end hotels are pretty much the same. Extremely comfy bed, good quality soaps and shampoos in a well appointed bathroom, sizable room, great gym/spa/pool etc. The Boulders had all of that, as you would expect, but the staff went above and beyond all the time.

You valet park when you arrive, and there are golf buggies to take you to your room (and collect you when needed) and the guys at the valet and who drove you to your room really couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived (and kept coming back every day with more) with a lot of "stuff", and they were always happy to help us carry things up to the room.

The check-in experience was excellent, with a really friendly agent, and the lady who we had booked with came out to say hello and make sure we were OK. It's a simple touch, but it really made you feel welcomed.

The staff in the bar were great, and the food we had in the bar was excellent, as was the room service.

I honestly can't recommend this resort highly enough. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulMJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my family had a good experience at the Boulders Waldorf Astoria Resort in Carefree, AZ. Although it was a bit pricey, overall experience was good. I wish their breakfast buffet had a little more choices for vegetarians.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Viral J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Viral J,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We glad that you had such a wonderful experience with your family at The Boulders. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and we will look into more options for our guest with dietary restrictions.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Looking for a wonderful escape? Try The Boulders resort. What a property! Wild life galore (watch out for the big rattle snakes), and a beautiful desert setting. The spa services were amazing as well as the serene spa itself. My husband and I have always wanted to see Arizona but were quite disappointed by Scottsdale and so glad that we chose The Boulders over The W Hotel which was our original choice. The vale guys were very helpful and super friendly and efficient. The front desk as well as the concierge desk were also very helpful at arranging outside tours and reservations. My husband and I don't golf but we were able to walk around the whole property on extensive paths and trails through the boulders. We enjoyed the sunset every night and the last night we were spoiled by a bucket of champaign and a beautiful setting sun! The rooms are amazing and everyone has a view of some sort...you pick. All our meals were taken at the main pool restaurant and were extremely enjoyable. We never had the same meal twice! Again the staff were very friendly and attentive without being claustrophobic as we were there in the off season. Without a doubt it was a very relaxing trip and we hope to return soon! If you need a cab as for Terry at Discount Cabs!

Room Tip: You need to decide if you want a long wide view of the distant mountains or a shorter view of the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisl67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Chrisl67_12,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your couples getaway here at The Boulders. We hope you enjoyed all we have to offer from our spacious Casitas to our world-class golf (even though you & your husband don't golf, we hope you enjoyed the views) to the Waldorf Astoria Spa and the many dining options we have on property.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing