We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly lovely resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfectly lovely resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

As is expected with any Waldorf Astoria resort, this resort was outstanding in almost every way. Their bell staff was excellent and all service staff greeted you with a smile and pleasant greeting. The casita lodging was beautiful and grounds impeccable. We loved our week stay in this beautiful section of Arizona. My only complaint about the resort was that the golf course was too busy. They have two courses - one public and one private - which rotate each day and the only tee times we could have gotten during the week were very late in the afternoon with the potential of not finishing the round. We were very much looking forward to golfing at the Boulders but instead found some very lovely courses outside the resort. It would have been great to park the car for at least a day and not drive off the property. Otherwise, really enjoyed the Spotted Donkey Cantina for dinner throughout the week and would certainly visit this property again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen_M_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,352
    330
    163
    101
    52
See reviews for
334
1,004
78
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

From the views to the Spa and Golf, all is above the roof! Can't give this place enough cudos. The staff is overboard. Always seem like they want to help rather than have to help. Shuttles are at your service instantly. One of the best experiences ever!

Room Tip: Just choose one! All have great views and perfect options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Brad C,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad that our staff was able to exceed your expectations during your visit! We hope you had a memorable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place by far was well worth the money. The property is a five star with all of the accomodations and service to follow. The restaurants are also superb. Don't forget the gift shop to pick up the great leather boots. My granddaughter loves them. I'd spend the money again to stay here. Great find.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where you get a room they will pick you up or the walk is breathless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buketlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Buketlist,

Thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your visit at The Boulders. We hope you were able to enjoy all we haave to offer from the spacious Casitas, to the plethora of dining options, to the boutiques at El Pedregal and our Gift Shops! We hope your granddaughter enjoyed the leather boots you picked up at the Gift Shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have visited the Boulders resort twice, I have been all over the world but I have to say, this resort is my favorite of all the places I have been. Last visit this January we stayed in the Casita with desert view, ground floor. I loved seeing the rabbits and quails in the morning while sipping coffee from the complimentary Kuerig maker. The fireplace is so romantic and the rooms lovely. Both visits the rooms were spotless. Room service was awesome (Sausage Pizza and Spaghetti with meat balls) and very quick. The real draw here is outside, the boulders are an amazing sight to see and I love the desert atmosphere. Just taking a stroll on the walking paths are a treat.
The staff are amazing, helpful and friendly. There is no snooty vibe here as I have experienced at other high end resorts.
I hope I will be able to visit again sometime and have a Prickly Pear Lemonade!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best if you like watching the wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear lindsayrose,

Thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisor! We are glad your second visit to The Boulders was just as memorable as your first! We hope you enjoyed all tThe Boulders had to offer from the comforts of your Casita, to the 12-million year old boulders, to the Prickly Pear Lemonade, to the beautiful nature of the high Sonoran Desert!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place is the absolute definition of relaxation! Great place for couples. Grounds are beautiful and your every need is taken care of at the moment you want it to happen. The golf courses are wonderful but the real center of this place is the spa. I have visited many spas around the country and this is by far the most spectacular one I have ever been in.

I have absolutely no complaints about anything. We ate in the main restaurant and it was wonderful. They also own the a sort of business/shopping area next door called el Pedragal and the Spotted Donkey restaurant there is off the charts wonderful. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Senoran Casita which was very large and the bathroom was an experience. It also had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyH5566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear GinnyH5566,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Boulders. We hope you were able to relax by the 4 pool options, and at the Waldorf Astoria Spa! We hope we exceeded your expectations, and we look forward to welcoming your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a casita. Our stay was mid-week and not during a holiday period, so the resort was not crowded.

We liked the atmosphere at The Boulders, which we found to be more gracious than glamorous. The resort has been around a while, so it doesn't have some of the most modern gadgetry that the newest places have. But our casita was quite nice,well maintained, and very clean. We found one minor problem with the bathroom when we arrived, but maintenance staff fixed it quickly within 10 minutes of my phone call.

The grounds are beatiful with lots of desert landscaping. Each morning we enjoyed a peaceful room service breakfast on our patio, entertained by quail and very cute desert rabbits just beyond the edge of the patio, and the calls of various birds in the trees.

Our dinner on the lovely, quiet Palo Verde patio was among the best meals we have had in Scottsdale.

Keep in mind that The Boulders is somewhat removed from the action of Scottsdale, which is a good 20 - 30 minute drive away. If you're looking for tranquility, this is the place. It doesn't seem to be oriented towards families with younger children -- for example, the main pool is decent sized but is not the sprawling complex that some other resorts have.

Overall, we found The Boulders to be a high-quality, beautiful, and classy resort.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor. Ours was on the first floor, and although the patio was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InsideScooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear InsideScooper,

Thank you for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor! We are glad that you and your wife had a wonderful couples retreat at The Boulders! We hope you enjoyed the grace of the high Sonoran Desert, and the breathtaking views of the 12-million year old boulders. We hope that during your visit, you were able to experience all we have to offer from our spacious Casita to the 4 pool options, to the world-class golf and spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited The Boulders with our two teens over Spring Break 2013. The kids really appreciated the excellent high speed internet in our Pueblo Villa. The unit was clean and had a laundry and full kitchen along with 3 bedrooms. The mattress in our master bedroom was disappointingly uncomfortable. My husband thought the golf was excellent. The kids got used to calling the shuttle bus for transportation. The club does not lend itself to walking and the one time we drove to the little shopping area, Pedregal, there was absolutely nowhere to park. We ended up taking the car back to our Villa and calling for the shuttle.

As you might expect for Spring Break, it was utterly impossible to find seats at the pool. We sat a few stairs down from the pool, at a small outdoor lounge area and got a little bit of backtalk from a lunch server who didn't want to have to walk up and down the stairs to serve us lunch. As we had worn bathing suits to the pool, we could not go inside for lunch. When I explained this to the server, he agreed to serve us. This was not quite the level of service I expected, but it did work out fine. We were able to enjoy lunch without having to take the bus back to our room and change clothes.

The one huge disappointment was that the hotel Spa does not accept children, which they define as anyone under 18 years of age. This seemed unusually restrictive for a top notch hotel. Not only did they not have any services, not even nails for teens, but they didn't offer to find us services at other locations. I called the Fairmont and the Four Seasons, and both offered the treatments we were looking for and accepted teens. Perhaps the no children policy will appeal to some travelers, but it was a very big disappointment to us.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children, the Pueblo Villas are a terrific option. Lots of room for every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yinene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBouldersCarefree, Manager at Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Yinene,

On behalf of the entire Boulders Team we extend our sincere thanks and appreciation for sharing your recent experience at The Boulders Resort. We are delighted the villa accommodations provided the proper venue for a relaxing and enjoyable family vacation.

Please know we are genuinely sorry for the disappointments you encountered and the lapse in service you received. Our team strives to provide each guest with a memorable stay and we truly regret we let you and your family down. We are most grateful you brought our attention to these shortcomings as it will allow us to provide additional training to our servers and review and update our sleeping accommodations. In addition, we are currently examining our age policy at the Waldorf Astoria Spa.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and for choosing The Boulders Resort for your Spring Break location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carefree
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 34631 N. Tom Darlington Drive, Carefree, AZ 85263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Carefree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carefree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a secluded haven amid the natural splendor of painted desert sand, towering cacti, and clear, blue sky - The Boulders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Boulders Resort & Spa, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boulders, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Carefree
The Waldorf Astoria Collection Carefree
The Boulders Resort And Golden Door Spa
Boulders Resort
The Boulders Resort Luxury
Boulder Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing